Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Alabama - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.83/5 Average Rating : 4.83/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.83/5
Total Reviews: 41

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 38
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 2 0 1 38
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Hooked me


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: sirmontu on 2014-01-13

Pros: Great gear, staff and DZ
Cons: Vinyl

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Was my first (many more to come) jump. What a great time! Before I got there I felt very intimidated. They made me feel like a pro in no-time!!! Facility and equipment was top notch (save the vinyl crack [you know Paul Rossouw])

My buddy & I looked around the internet for days trying to find the best spot in the U.S. for my first jump. Being he had 132 jumps under his belt I took his advice and booked this place. We drove 12.5 hours and it was time well spent!!!+!

We made it home safe guys, thank you again so much, and you are right.......the most dangerous part WAS the drive home!

(Review ID:8325)


Jump here at least once!


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: bialicki on 2013-09-04

Pros: Everything!
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Wonderful place to jump! Staff is awesome and friendly as ever! This is where I did my first AFF and Tandem here and every time I go back, each jump got progressively more awesome!
(Review ID:8173)


Awesome place to jump.


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: lex5150 on 2013-05-01

Pros: Family oriented! Friendly, Professional.
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It's now the place I call home. What a great staff! They really care about the people and the sport. You will not find a better DZ!
(Review ID:7891)


Awesome place for experienced jumpers, or those new to the sport


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: jnik99 on 2012-05-29

Pros: Big plane, friendly environment
Cons: Unique winds in their little valley amongs the trees

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I dropped in to make some fun jumps and this was an awesome place for it! Made a couple jumps with only seven people on a caravan, it was awesome! The staff and students are friendly,I was invited to join a 100th jump for one of the locals which turned into a 13-way, incomplete, but still great fun.
(Review ID:7246)


UP-JUMPER HEAVEN


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: thats_sumpthin on 2011-04-13

Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Totally freaki' awesome! I'd recommend this DZ to anyone and everyone; from the tandem and AFF students to the I've got 10,000 jumps jumpers. nice plane, excellent staff and facilities. oh yea and the regulars are top-notch!

BLUE SKIES PEEPS B)

(Review ID:6332)


great dz!


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: Billbo on 2011-03-29

Pros: great people
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I don't know if it can get much better than this! one of the friendliest & most helpful, safety oriented places you would ever want to go!

blue skies!

(Review ID:6293)


An Upjumper's Heaven


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: marcantonio152 on 2011-01-31

Pros: Friendly Jumpers, Restaurant on site, Indoor packing area, Quick aircraft, Upjumper Friendly
Cons: Lots of traffic at the airport

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
"Tandem Factory" is the least accurate description I could give to this place. As upjumpers we all know that students and tandems pay the bills, but it seems that these guys really care about their regulars more than trying to pull a huge profit. Of course the Pac doesn't compare to the Super Otter that I've come to love at Gold Coast, but it's still hundreds of times better than the C-182 I've dealt with for most of my jumps!

There's a restaurant on site - $3.99 for a hamburger and other very reasonable prices. The gear shop has what you might need (tube stows, altis, goggles, etc) and they make the mistake of allowing you to take what you want and pay for it all at the end of the day! I almost forgot that I snagged a bag of tube stows before I left, but I paid for them.

They charge 3% for credit cards so bring a checkbook. $25 per load gets expensive so I guess that's how they handle taking care of their upjumpers more than bumping us for tandems and AFF. Still, one of best dropzones I've been to. Out of the 9 DZs I've visited, I'd rate this one number 2 (right behind Gold Coast in Mississippi) only because of the PAC and the $25 per load. The friendliness of their skydivers and their willingness to jump with you and get you involved in what they do is incomparable, though. I'll definitely be coming back here.

(Review ID:6207)


Skydive Alabama is awesome!!


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: wilson82 on 2010-12-17

Pros: Too many to list! Just go and see Stacey and crew and you will understand what I mean.
Cons: That they have not been recognized more for there hard work and dedication to our sport.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Well I will keep this in the shortest form possible so that it will leave those who are curious about this place will step out on the ledge and find out for there selves!

Bottom line I cannot say it enough, but you must travel down there and check things out for yourself! When you get there tell Hardwood that you want to make a skydive....Ha Ha...

Thanks guys....see you again!!

(Review ID:6142)


bigger dz with small dz feel


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: cavscout73 on 2010-11-14

Pros: aircraft,professional yet laid back and fun
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First off I'm a student so my experiences are somewhat limited on dz's but the minute I got there I was welcomed. The staff was very professional, prices were good . The only thing I will say as a student is after using smaller zp canopies their larger f111 were not my favorite .. but all in all I will be returning as often as I can ... thanks everyone for making it a great trip ...
(Review ID:6110)


Awesome DZ in Alabama with an incredible-professional staff!


Skydive Alabama Rated 5 by: BPilk on 2010-08-30

Pros: The plane is always flying, and the manifest chick is smoking hot!
Cons: Only open Fri-Sun

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My wife and I jumped at Skydive Alabama for 3 years and was there almost every weekend. Unfortunately, we had to move out of state due to work. First of all the staff are the most professional of any DZ staff we ever been to, and that's about 15 DZ's throughout the states. Secondly, the plane is always flying, if not the King Air, then the Cessna. Curly, the DZO is always working his ass off making sure the plane's in the air by either flying, or if he's short a TM, he's quick to put on a rig to take a student up, or even shoot video; he's an outstanding person with a great since of humor! Stacey, who works manifest; goes above and beyond any manifest person i have ever seen. Overall this DZ is and will be by far my favorite DZ and choice DZ to visit no matter how far we may live away from it. Keep up the good work guys
(Review ID:5973)
> >|

Write your own Review