Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Raeford Parachute Center School - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.55/5 Average Rating : 4.55/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.55/5
Total Reviews: 53

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 4 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 44
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 4 1 2 44
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Unprofessional


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 2 by: Iamaslowpacker on 2013-09-02

Pros: Aircraft
Cons: Vibe

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I would not recommend this drop zone. The staff are not professional, the fun jumper crowd is cliquish and transient. I jumped here for a year as a fun jumper before moving on. Some of the staff are quite friendly but I did not feel comfortable. Too many racist jokes about the adjacent predominantly African-American community. Too many gay jokes about "f-gs." My favorite comment from one of the AFF instructors was "well, at least I don't train my dog to bark at Black people." It was super super awkward. If you're a first time jumper looking to do a tandem pay a little bit more and jump at Triangle Skydiving Center or Skydive Carolina. Or if you want great scenery try Skydive Myrtle Beach. They are all more professional. If you're a fun jumper looking for load organizing you'll find more of it at another DZ anyways.
(Review ID:8160)


Great place to learn!


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 5 by: ggrayson on 2013-06-24

Pros: Staff, Coaches, Aircraft, Pilots, Manifest
Cons: I live too far away

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started there with a tandem and am now working on my A licsense. Everyone is great from Tony, the staff, other jumpers who offer advice, coaching and just support you as you try to learn. Aircraft, pilots and manifest are great and helpful and good source of info. This will be my home dropzone. Safety here is important.
(Review ID:7999)


Great Place for Weekend Getaways


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 5 by: johnfulk on 2013-01-26

Pros: Smooth Manifest, Great Aircraft, Good People and fun environment
Cons: Tall pines trees

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've had many great experiences at Raeford. A great place to have fun jumping and plenty of knowledgeable and experienced jumpers to learn from. Easy manifest, great pilots, nice aircraft and a fun environment before, during and after the jumping.
(Review ID:7791)


Can't Wait to Go Back!


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 5 by: Rocketmahn on 2012-10-15

Pros: Fast Turbine Aircraft, Restaurant, Fast Packers, Very Friendly
Cons: Tall Pines Nearby - but lots of outs.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I thoroughly enjoyed Raeford's "Hospitality" - as one jumper put it!!!

I stopped in around noon on a Thursday for a few afternoon jumps and ended up staying until well after dark!

The people were very friendly - not just the DZ staff but the jumpers too. I was surprised at how many people actually knew my name by the end of the day (of course flying in on a small GA plane and being a new guy at the DZ with a Northern accent on a weekday probably helped make me standout!)

John (a DZ canopy coach) provided many suggestions on how to etch out just a little more performance. He also gave me a thorough DZ orientation. Keven kept the manifest running smoothly. I was interested in buying a full face helmet at the gear shop and the shop employees went out of their way providing helmets for me to try on for fit.

There is a restaurant and bar on-site with very good food (try the pork tenderloin sandwich!). Also, there is a lot of military members jumping at the DZ on their days off (Ft. Bragg is nearby) - if you are so inclined buy them a drink or lunch to thank them for their service to our country.

Speaking of military, team members of the Golden Knights were on our loads training and hanging out with the rest of us which made for interesting conversation!

I was invited to join a 4 way attempt - even though I had less than 60 jumps and had never done one before. We had just gotten it built and another jumper floats right on in to make a five way! I was told later that he was an retired Golden Knight.

The DZ is decent size, but there are tall pine trees around (makes for nice shade). There are also plenty of outs too so they are not a problem.

I was told that the buildings were just repainted recently (all looked nice) and that the shower building was next to be renovated.

I paid for packing so I could eat lunch, and just hang out and learn! The packers were fast - although they ask that you set your own brakes and slider to help keep lines straight - and to save them time. My local DZ doesn't do it that way but it seems like a good idea - I think that I'm going to keep doing it. They also have a covered and lighted packing platform.

Overall a very enjoyable experience and like Arnold says... "I'll be Bach!"

(Review ID:7677)


Great place to jump for sure.


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 4 by: Creep0321 on 2011-10-23

Pros: Aircraft, Facilities, Coaches, Maifest, Rental rigs, packing
Cons: Lots of small cliques

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Awesome DZ. Although there were some cliques, usually very experienced jumpers, there were a number of novice/intermediate jumpers willing to hang out, help out, do relative work, whatever. Packing was fast, and consistent. Manifest was smooth. Definitely will be making many more weekend trips here in the future.
(Review ID:6868)


Will not go back to this drop zone if I can help it.


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 1 by: sneakyj0e on 2011-06-13

Pros: Many aircrafts
Cons: Too many "sky gods"

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Went to this DZ with some friends looking to buy some gear, went to where they had the gear and was treated more or less like a stranger. There was no good help find the gear we wanted, they were just trying to pressure us into buying gear for the sake of getting paid. One of us, found what they were looking for, but since "a friend" was looking at it tomorrow, we could come by tomorrow and see then, yeah we're not driving another 3 hours tomorrow to find out we cant buy the gear we wanted today. Very unprofessional. Everyone there was in their own world and own clique, if you weren't one of them they could care less about you. I would not recommend this DZ to anyone, in fact, I will always remember how it was there, first impressions are most important right? I will always advise everyone I talk to,to not go to that DZ. Another thing to add, I've seen more people crash into the ground, in one load there, than I have seen my entire time skydiving at my home DZ,that says a lot...
(Review ID:6491)


A horrible out of town experience


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 2 by: bacord18 on 2011-02-03

Pros: Nice area, Nice plane, Paraclete is only a few miles away
Cons: Rude people, Safety is low on their priorities

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I recently visited the Raeford area and stopped by the DZ to do some jumps. The area is very nice and beautiful. When we arrived at the DZ, we felt very unwelcome. People were being very short and rude to us. I spoke with Tony (who was the only nice staff member there) and tried to get settled in. We didn't have our rigs with us so we were trying to talk to someone about renting some gear. That was a mistake. The lady who ran the gear room (packer as well), was very rude. She didn't want anything to do with us and wouldn't help us at all. After finally getting gear, we were gear checking the equipment and noticed the reserve pin was starting to slide up close to the closing loop. We asked their gear supervisor to check it, and she didn't even bother looking before she said it was fine. We were never given an orientation of the DZ but were told to go look at the map and figure it out on our own. When asked about landing patterns, we were told to just do whatever. This blew my mind. This kind of attitude and unprofessionalism is how people get hurt/killed. After making one jump, we went to go pack the rental gear. One of the bands had broken and we didn't bring any with us, so we kindly asked where we could purchase rubber bands. Again, the packer told us to F*** off, that she was busy. We decided that this would be the one and only jump we would ever do at Raeford DZ. If you don't have to deal with the staff, this might be a nice DZ. Out of the 8 or so DZ's I have visited, this was by far the worst experience.
(Review ID:6221)


An Awesome Zone


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 5 by: jup on 2010-06-23

Pros: lots
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Brother in law is Joe Trinko he was a member of the golden knights and has many trouphies...anyway, me and my girlfriend flew down there to visit my sis in southern pines and Joe set us up a jump at the zone and so she is 45 years old and has never flew before and so we had plans to go there 3 years ago and so we flew there which freaked her out then the next day she jumped out of 1 at the drop zone lol and then 2 days later she went 2 ocean for first time...was a good week for her... tc
(Review ID:5788)


Love it


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 5 by: jessicabird on 2010-04-17

Pros: great people
Cons: you'll want to stay forever

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great people....Very professional. Barry is Hot!
(Review ID:5665)


My Home DZ, Great Place!


Raeford Parachute Center School Rated 5 by: gusto77 on 2010-02-01

Pros: Everything
Cons: North Carolina Weather!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Learned to skydive here, made lots of new friends.... would recommend this DZ to anyone and everyone
(Review ID:5567)
> >|

Write your own Review