Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Empuriabrava - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.69/5 Average Rating : 4.69/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.69/5
Total Reviews: 26

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 3 Times: 21
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 1 1 3 21
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Past its hayday


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 2 by: hotham15 on 2013-06-13

Pros: Windtunnel, aircraft, view from the air
Cons: load organising, team monopoly, vibe

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited here as a fun jumper in May/June 2013 and completed about 40 fun jumps.

Empuriabrava has one of the biggest reputations in Europe but falls so short of the mark in my opinion. They have a brand new wind tunnel and some of the best aircraft I've ever seen. Their new Beech can get you and 19 mates to 13k in 7.5minutes !! amazing.

The major drawbacks for fun jumpers are the complete monopoly by teams and freefly coaching teams which prevent free load organising! Because teams can pre manifest and you cannot, some days we had to wait 2 hours between loads... no thank you.

The DZ has been bought by Skydive Dubai in recent months and there is allot of talk about future plans, however, right now this DZ is not a place I will return to and there a better DZs in Europe.

(Review ID:7982)


Fun, professional DZ with amazing view


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 5 by: A-DZ on 2011-08-08

Pros: Top class instructors, big planes, friendly vibe
Cons: Can get windy

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my AFF & A license at Empuriabrava in May 2011. Both the ground school and instructor jumps were top notch (thanks, Laurent & Fran!) Though we were winded out the first day, I got my first 29 jumps in 7 days. They had an Otter and a Porter going while I was there, and I hear they have a 3rd turbine during the peak summer months.

For a novice like me, it was quite a treat to be sharing planes with the French national 4-way teams (both male and female) as well as the Babylon Freefly team.

The view of the sea is amazing and they've got a professional photographer there (Mike) who takes some amazing shots. The cafe and bar are good fun and excellent place for watching students' AFF videos and drinking their beer!

I'd highly recommend this DZ to anyone who wants to do a ton of jumping, get licensed, do an RW or Canopy course, or even just chill and watch some insane swooping.

(Review ID:6667)


friendly dz with great atmos


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 5 by: skydivertony on 2010-05-22

Pros: View, Staff, Location, Slick Operation. Friendly Safe Attitude
Cons: Windy! But Apparently We Were a Bit Unlucky On The Week We Were There.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just arrived back from 2nd trip to empuria with 4 mates. Unfortunatly we were winded out for a couple of days,however when the wind dropped the operation was quickly got under way.on the last day we were there the boss{peter}paid for me and 4 mates to jump coz he felt bad for us and to thank our patience.this simply doesn't happen elsewhere and I'm happy to go back there and fully recommend the DZ to friends.
(Review ID:5719)


Nice big DZ with lovely views, Instructors actitude rude.


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 4 by: Tink666 on 2008-12-29

Pros: planes, dz very nice, views..
Cons: instructors attitude, weather..

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
To be honest, I got to Empuria and their staff had a very poor attitude, they were a little rude to say, I am tiny and jumping with a sabre 150, they were shouting, laughing and commenting like they new best than my instructors in Ocaņa, (hey Xavi, this girl is jumping with 150 and she has 40 jumps, hahaha),well I don't think so!! That I found very arrogant and rude the way they treat people there.
The place was very nice, the planes, the cafeteria (little expensive)and the views were... the best... still I would not change my DZ in Ocaņa..

(Review ID:4924)


Beautiful location


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 5 by: joblades on 2007-09-26

Pros: Scenery, aircraft, bunkhouse
Cons: tandems, proshop, bar

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just got back from a short vacation in Empuriabrava, it sure was a journey to get there from Afghanistan but I made it very easily using public transportation and a short walk.
Go vartical was ongoing while I was there and the view from 16k is excellent. While the Beech99, Otter and Porter were flying everything was going well and I was able to average 10 jumps per day, however, one day the p orter didn't fly and the otter was only flying tandems and AFFs so the fun jumpers were limited to only manifesting on the Beech which meant 2 hour wait time between loads.
The bar had in my opinion the wost service I have ever seen, took forever to get serviced, although the food was pretty good and at night it was pretty good atmosphere.
Just like the previous review, the proshop was quite expensive and I couldn't find a shirt from the DZ to save my life.

Overall, I think this is a great DZ and I recommend it to anyone wanting to travel a bit and see something new. The people are very friendly and the office ladies are great, very accomodating and friendly. I would certainly return.

(Review ID:4155)


Second biggest in the world ?


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 3 by: BMFin on 2007-08-23

Pros: Really active, nice scenery, town close by
Cons: Manifest, rigging, weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Went to empuria around easter and also participated the go vertical boogie.

ABOUT THE MANIFEST:
Plane capacity was good. Beech99, Super otter, Skyvan and the porter. But sometimes it felt it just wasent enough. During the busy times I had to wait more than 2 hours just to manifest my self solo on the next availeable load. But wait, thats not all.. The next guy (who obviously knows the manifest) goes and manifests him self and some friends on a 25 minute call right after me. Im like What the **** is this ? This was happening thru the whole day.

ABOUT RIGGIN LOFT:
After a few jumps on my new canopy I noticed I should lenghten my brakelines. I took my canopy to the riggin loft and explained the rigger what I needed. He asked me "what canopy is that" I said "Its a 120 vengeace" and He started shouting me "why the F**K do you have spectra lines on your vengeace!!!??" Where I couldnīt really say nothing else then "Im very sorry but PD installed them in the factory" (that is the way how the canopy is designed by PD) After that he grabbed my helmet and started wrapping a line from my canopy over my camerahelmet and telling me how this helmet is going to kill me... (its a normal bonehead optik) Eventually the next day I finally got him to lenghten my brakelines after having to listen his mumbo jumbo for 2 hours... So word of advice .. Have your rigging made at your home DZ before leaving to empuria.

WEATHER:
I think the location isnt exactly the optimal skydiving location in terms of weather. The wind is often very hard as also said in the other reviews. Still empuria manages to be the worlds second biggest DZ with a lot of days nonjumpable.

PILOT:
In empuria all the jumpruns are spotted by GPS and always flown from south to north. This is because of the city right to the south of the airstrip. The only place where you can land in the city are the canals, so you really dont want to end up over the city.

One of the days i was manifested on the skyvan for a few jumps and noticed that on the earlier loads the last ones out didnt make back to the DZ becouse the Skyvan pilot was dropping people so far away. When we went on the next load we asked the pilot if he could make 2 jumpruns where he immediedly said "NO !!" very stern. Earlier on that day there was one fatal incident from the skyvan. Lot of jumpers again couldnt make it back and one died to his injuries later due to a bad off landing..

Next day we were flying not two but THREE jumpruns.. But suprise suprise no one wanted to load on the skyvan anymore so the DZ made it tandem only for the rest of the day..

Other than this. I had fun in empuria. The city is close by. There are nice small towns to visit close by. The bunkhouses are nice. Mostly people were very professional.

(Review ID:4102)


its where some of the worlds best skydivers train and work, in europe it is seen as one of the best


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 4 by: micromajor on 2006-05-15

Pros: aircraft, location, amazing view while freefalling and under canopy,manifest staff, master rigger, office staff, town, k
Cons: tramontana, southwind, expensive gearshop, small bunk house, expensive vending machines,

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started skydiving in this center going via AFF route and carried on with jumps in this DZ. If you are planning an AFF you have two options. First one is to choose the DZ's own Instructors to take your level jumps. You may need to share your instructor and you may end up having different instructors for each of your levels. This should not put any one off as all of the instructors are highly skilled professionals as some are in Spanish international formation team and some are sponsored by companies like redbull .However if you prefer to have a more personalized instruction and have the same instructors for your jumps there are smaller schools managed by foreign instructors. All speak English and they all have extensive experience in skydiving.
They have two pilatus porters a blue and a white. Blue seems to be little faster than the white. Then the super otter is a big plane which takes up to 23 flyers and climbs to 13000ft around 10 mins. The Beech99 as manifest prefers to call it KINGAIR is not owned by the centre but the pilot and the owner of the plane JAN prefers to fly his superfast plane at this DZ pretty much every other time he doesnt attand to a go vertical boogie somewhere else. If you pack your own canopy fast enough and eager to get alot of jumps its possible to reach two digits in one day. mine is 9 in march where the jumping hours are shorter in summer you may get few more.
The ground control, manifest, office are all oparated by proffesional and friendly people. The master rigger is a very interesting personality and he talks through details to make sure you are learning he does this in a very professional manner regardless of your level. Sometimes you may find that everyone is telling you to do or not to do something but if dont have some thousand jumps its a good idea to listen to them because they usually have those jumps under their belts.
If you manage to get on the sunset load you will get a chance to be dropped at 15.000 or even 16.000ft and will have a chance to see the moon, the sun set and the amazing view.
The biggest problem is the wind sometimes when the tramontana picks up it may stop skydiving for days. And sometimes it comes from the south and it usually eases off in a days time.
The bunkhouse is 6 people in one room and they are not too big. Considering this DZ as one of the bussiest in Eurpoe it definetly needs better accomodation options. The cafe is quite good which turns into a bar later on drinks are a little expensive but comparing with uk still affordable.
Landing area is large green field and there are lots of off-field landing area in th north. The south is covered by the town but the DZ never takes the risk if there is chance to have off landings to the town side they will go on stand by. Safe is better!
If you stay here long and you are bored you can go and try kite surfing at the beach. The town has lots of restaurants and bars but mainly everyone can be found at Orange Kiwi where you can have amazing continental food, Captains cabin is a pub similar to the ones in the UK, surfinn is a clubbish-bar which operates till late. for single males there are more into the town than meets the eye but be prepared for surprises and high prices.
There are two shops at the DZ for clothing the matter factory shop is just at the back near the hangars and the sky rat shop. But if you are looking for gear the the only place is the skyrat shop where the prices may be high however there are lots of options for you in there if you are in a rush to replace your altimeter or get a new pair of goggles then it serves for the need.
At this dropzone you will meet BABYLON team, Bruno Brokken, Tim Porter and many more world best in their own branch od skydiving and as in many other things in life the best are modest, down to earth and holod passion for sharing their experience and knowledge with the newcomers.
I have tried to be objective in my observations hope these be usefull.


(Review ID:3065)


If your thinking of making a trip do it.


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 5 by: apieceofsky on 2006-04-22

Pros: everything you need
Cons: bit of a journey to get there

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went to Empuriabrava by myself three times in 2005 while living in the U.K. and had good times. Met people from all over the world that are up for some fun jumps, good food and bars.There's everthing you could want except a swoop pond and wind tunnel,Come on owners. It's just great to be able to turn up somewhere and know your going to have fun.


(Review ID:2998)


Live life i Skydive Empuriabrava


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 5 by: Duffmaster on 2006-04-12

Pros: Almost everything
Cons: The loading order. A great mix of tandems, freeflyers and bellyflyers.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hi Everyone!

Just arrived home after a fantastic holiday in Catalonia, Spain.

Skydive Empuirabrava was our destination. A nice DZ with friendly and accommodating staff. Great aircafts (1xsuper otter, 2xsuper pilatus porter, 1xbeech 99), and tremendous wies!

The city of Empuriabrava offered nice restaurants and great bars. The beach is also nice, but i think it come to it right later on in the summer .

Skydive Empuriabrava also offer you a "loadorganizer". One person in the staff that helps you with Formation Skydivning. He organzie groups after your own wishes and experience. You can be a rookie or talented 4-way jumper. everybody is welcome. He show you the Exit, helps you with your dirtdives and give you some tips and trix. If you want, he will even jump with you. And fix you a cameraman. all for free We met this guy Regan from UK. He did a great job and he contributed alot to this successful trip. We had some great laughter with him. Thx Regan!

I can warmly recommend Skydive Empuriabrava, both if you are going solo or if you travel in group. You will be taken good care of in Empuriabrava!
I will definitive go back to this charming place.

Blue skies

(Review ID:2983)


Catalonia at its best


Skydive Empuriabrava Rated 5 by: hjalled on 2006-04-11

Pros: People, atmosphere, location, frequency of lifts
Cons: Can't think of any real ones. The city Empuriabrava wasn't very alive in March/April

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very welcoming atmosphere. We were helped out by UK champ Regan with load organising and coaching - even got loads of the jumps on DVD. Super frequent lifts with Kingair, Pilatuses, Superotter. Super professional and super friendly.

In the air it was fantastic to see the snow covered Pyrenees on your one hand and the Costa Brava on the other. Great environment with all of Catalonia's small towns and Barna within driving distance.

A fantastic DZ and a fantastic experience. Will definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone, rookie as well as pro!

(Review ID:2981)
> >|

Write your own Review