Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Abel Tasman - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.85/5 Average Rating : 4.85/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.85/5
Total Reviews: 79

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 8 Times: 70
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 0 0 8 70
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Best in New Zealand


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: captainhansen on 2014-07-29

Pros: Friendly & helpful staff, sportie friendly DZ, amazing views!
Cons: No cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A great dropzone with friendly staff, great plane, good facilities and stunning views at the top of the South Island.

Would recommend it to anyone for tandems, AFF or sporties - Skydive Abel Tasman is great.

(Review ID:8603)


A well tuned dropzone that is super welcoming to sporties.


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 4 by: starcruza on 2013-01-29

Pros: Friendly, welcoming staff. Amazing views, sporty friendly
Cons: No cafe.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
While holidaying in New Zealand I went on a bit of a dropzone crawl across the country. It's a real shame that many of the places that I went to have taken the direction of deterring sports jumpers from visiting. Skydive Abel Tasman is NOT one of those dropzones. From the moment I arrived I was made super welcome and got straight into checking out the amazing scenery from 15,000ft. The only negatives I could point out are that there is no camping area for visitors (but thats because they cant have one near the airfield) and that there isn't a cafe (I believe one is planned for construction some time soon)..
Thanks for having me guys, Blues skies!

(Review ID:7796)


Great DZ, nice relaxed vibe, professional staff with tons of experience, lovely location


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: ZipZaq on 2013-01-04

Pros: Friendly and professional team, great vibe, pros happy to give newbies a hand, really good weather
Cons: I don't live close enough :(

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had a great bunch of jumps at Skydive Abel Tasman right before New Year. Thanks a ton and I'm looking forward to coming back!

Skydive Abel Tasman has a great vibe about it. It's relaxed but totally professional. Their systems work like a well oiled machine - you know your load well in advance and the Pilatus Porter has quick turn arounds.

The crew there are absolutely awesome and really accommodating to newer sport jumpers such as myself. Everyone was looked after really well. Did some coached FS jumps and lots of 2 ways plus a couple of solos. A variety of sport jumpers kept turning up, and there were the usual lot of tandems too. The pros were helpful with plenty of tips right from load organizing, dirt dives, free fall, canopy flight and help with packing too.

Motueka, where the DZ is located, is a really cool little town. There are some nice cafes and pubs, plenty of accommodation options, and the stunning Abel Tasman park right next door. It's fairly easy to get to the DZ from Nelson (nearest airport). The drive is about 45 mins and there are buses and shuttles around. As a bonus, the weather is generally pretty good.

Do I recommend Skydive Abel Tasman - oh yes, 100%+ :)

(Review ID:7768)


Great Drop Zone on the S Island for Sport Jumps


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: bonkers351 on 2012-12-30

Pros: Landing Area, Aircraft, The Staff and People
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Sport jumpers are made to feel welcome and at home. Like all DZ's tandems pay the bills, but here they have a small population of local sport jumpers, the staff take time for fun jumps, and it has the vibe of a cool place to hang out when the turbine stops. This is a must visit DZ for any sport jumper touring S. Island.
(Review ID:7763)


Excellent dropzone with stunning views


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: kirk_theo1986 on 2012-10-07

Pros: Awesome porter, Kick ass staff and a 60" TV to watch your jump/s!!
Cons: Liza #2 left.. :( oh and Good Vibes has to come to an end :(

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Staff are very accommodating from your first tandem to AFF students and every sport jump afterwards.
As a sporty your made to feel welcome rather than a inconvenience to the tandem operation you get at other 'organisations'. cheap as jump tickets to ride in the porter to altitude in no time!

Facilities are sweet as, clean, tidy and professional (I hate messy packing mats!!) with plenty of space outside for family an friends to chill out an watch the canopy's land right outside the base on the lush grass landing area.
As I mentioned above the MASSIVE TV to watch back your jumps for debriefing is ridiculously cool! B)

Stu Bean is a LEGEND for opening his DZ to sportys for Good Vibes and Lisa is an absolute ANGEL for organising the whole thing, one of the best weeks of my skydiving career so far!

Cheers guys for an all round awesome place to feed my addiction, Look forward to many more jumps at Skydive Abel Tasmen.. :)

(Review ID:7659)


Awesome dz I definitely recommend!


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: lajzaaa on 2012-04-23

Pros: Friendly, small, easygoing and the Good vibes boogie!
Cons: Nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A great dropzone with friendly staff, great plane, good facilities and stunning views.

Would recommend it to anyone whatever your plans are, tandem, AFF or sporties - Skydive Abel Tasman is the place :)

(Review ID:7120)


Awesome in every way


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: Dropzoneuser on 2012-03-27

Pros: People, place, plane, everything
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Amazing DZ nothing bad to say about it.
Awesome location plane is fast as hell.
All the staff are awesome


(Review ID:7074)


Perfect place


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: marstone on 2012-03-27

Pros: small
Cons: cant find any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Made my AFF in December 2011. Had one of the best weeks in my life. Beautiful location close to the sea. Perfect view across to the North Island. Mountains on the other side. Food stall in front of the hangar with yummy burgers!
Great place to learn! Not too big. Great people! Lovely town! Amazing country! MS

(Review ID:7072)


Brilliant mix of safety, professionalism and fun


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: jameskell on 2012-02-26

Pros: Instructors, location, plane, dispatch girls :)
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my AFF with Skydive Abel Tasman in Jan '12. These guys were excellent. Great gear, friendly people, brilliant location. If you are in this neck of the woods I would definitely recommend these guys. JK
(Review ID:7027)


amazing scenery and such a great vibe


Skydive Abel Tasman Rated 5 by: joerkt13 on 2012-02-16

Pros: awesome people and such a great place to jump
Cons: i dont live in motueka

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did the first three AFF levels, completed over two days due to weather. the crew all made me feel like one of the team, and got me stoked to jump.

all the instructors were great and i had an awesome time! cant wait to live in motueka again!

(Review ID:7017)
> >|

Write your own Review