Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Walterboro - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.67/5
Total Reviews: 12

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 9
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 1 2 9
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Awesome place to jump


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: JasonYergin on 2012-05-01

Pros: HUGE playground, awesome staff, great vibe
Cons: Small aircraft...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love it. It's my home DZ so, yeah, I'm a little bit biased but in all honesty it's a great place to learn and if you haven't jumped at a small DZ in a while you owe to yourself to come have a completely relaxed and fun jump or two.

There are two Cessnas's for days when flying both can be justified. 90% of the hanger is carpeted and shaded for packing and relaxing and there are plenty of restaurants and gas stations just a couple of miles away.

(Review ID:7137)


friendly student oriented dropzone with some fun jumpers in the mix.


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: jamester28 on 2010-09-25

Pros: very friendly environment dedicated to advancing students in a safe and fun manner. coaches/instructors are top notch.
Cons: be prepared to wait between loads. they have 2 C182 aircraft but i usually only see one taking loads up.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been in the static line program over the summer and have enjoyed all of it from the ground training, to the jumps, to the conversation between loads. Two months ago I was on my ten second delay and due to some instability at deployment (and a pre-existing weakness in the joint) suffered a dislocated shoulder which put me out of the training for awhile. Was welcomed back today by name with smiles and well wishes. Was directed to a jumper who shared my predisposition to shoulder instability and got some good pointers. Did a prcp and a clear and pull. Good stable exits and helpful feedback from my instructors Robert and Chuck. Will be back next weekend. Great times had by all. :-)
(Review ID:6023)


Cool, laid back yet professional place to learn to fly.


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: bluetwo on 2010-06-23

Pros: Great people, nice environment, huge airfield
Cons: What cons, it's a nice place.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Honestly I only went to Skydive Walterboro because they could get me in soon, without a month long wait but I'm glad it turned out that way. My girlfriend took me skydiving because she'd been twice and I had never been but now going every weekend and working on my license... she says she has created a monster... I'd totally recommend it to anybody though.
(Review ID:5789)


1st jump and will do it again.


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: TheFlash on 2008-03-23

Pros: Superfriendly people-affordable
Cons: Busy during springbreak/holidays

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I wish they had bigger planes and the harness was small for me-( 5ft9in 217-wide load-lol) They seem to want to get you into skydiving and will answer ANY question. Very informative NO HIDDEN FEES. I really liked my instructor Chuck,great personality everyone was friendly,helpful for a 1st timer like me.After static line class(includes 1st jump its just $60.00 each jump-great imho
(Review ID:4415)


a second home


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: climboutandhang on 2008-01-01

Pros: Second home
Cons: Bring a cooler

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been jumping at Walterboro since September. Everyone there is friendly and professional. I have 7 jumps, and have been treated just a good as someone with a 1000 jumps. The staff is never too busy to help you or answer any questions. They always make every effort to get you in the air.
This is just a great place to hang out, make friends and learn to sky dive.
The food facilities are not close,so bring some snacks encase of a weather hold, thats the only con about this DZ i can think of.

(Review ID:4290)


Everyone is welcome


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: jbcox29649 on 2005-12-19

Pros: staff
Cons: C182

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
There are no outsiders at Skydive Walterboro, everyone is a regular. If you’re a student, or want to be a student, this is the place for you. If you’re an experienced jumper in or around the Charleston area and want to make a few jumps while in town, the regulars and staff will make you feel like you’re at home. What they lack in size they make up in hospitality.
(Review ID:2763)


Nice scenery. The best people people, 5 mins off I95


Skydive Walterboro Rated 4 by: Terminal-V on 2004-12-07

Pros: The people are great. So friendly and helpful. cant say enough about them
Cons: C182 but not every DZ has a million dollars like the boys in Fl, Ca, etc

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my training at Deland but live in South Carolina, so this is where I go. Have made a few jumps with the guys at Skydive Walterboro and these guys are great. My first jump I was asked to participate in a 4 way and they even catered the break off to my deployment altitude. They took me in and made me feel like I was a regular who has had 500 jumps with them. They went over the cross training for their rigs, (I trained with Vectors at Deland), went over exits from the C182 even before I was asked to join the 4 way and reviewed wind direction and spotting. Never once was I asked if I wanted to spend money on coaching or asked for a hand out. They just wanted to see me succeed and have a safe, fun time. This is my home DZ until I move to Orlando, Florida in January 2005. I cant say enough good things about Skydive Walterboro and the people there. A+++ for the vibe.
(Review ID:1968)


Great DZ


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: wisdom62 on 2004-02-22

Pros: Very Friendly, Big Landing Area, Perfect for Students
Cons: None

Started my AFF here, Is my Local DZ, The people here are great, friendly, helpful, fun to jump with. I recommend checking out Skydive Walterboro, Especially if you are a student, They are very student oriented, but also the seasoned pro skydivers need to check this place out. Overall this place is AWESOME!!!
(Review ID:1371)


Had a blast


Skydive Walterboro Rated 4 by: 2fat2fly on 2003-08-20

Pros: Friendly, Well Run, Large Landing Area
Cons: Coastal Clouds, Cessna 182

I visited Skydive Walterboro while in the area on vacation. I went first on a Sunday and clouds rolled in before I could go up. I had later plans and couldn't wait them out. I still had a blast hanging out with the staff and regulars. Nobody looked down on my low jump number or ugly gear. I returned the following Friday and made two loads. Number one was a hop and pop to look around the area. Number two was a two way with a regular there who along with everyone else was helpful, friendly and free with advise. They seemed to be taking good care of the students. I observed the instructors to be both professional and friendly going that extra bit to make the students comfortable. I don't get in the area often but rest assured that when I'm down that way I'll be stopping by.
(Review ID:1042)


Maybe one day! Grand Caravan would make it gold!


Skydive Walterboro Rated 5 by: melissagsc on 2002-12-05

Pros: Excellent Student oriented Drop Zone
Cons: No big loads...no big planes

This is a very big landing area..very beautiful town and great people! Some great skydivers have come from here...so I have heard and seen the video..Jim Slaton, Jeremy Nease, Jeremy Wilder, Tony Canant. Home of the Citadel Skydive Club run by Dr. Robert Sinnott.

The best riggers and packers...I've ever known!




Maybe one day...a Grand Caravan or King Air will show up and make it Gold!

(Review ID:648)
> >|

Write your own Review