Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Kansas - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.42/5 Average Rating : 4.42/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.42/5
Total Reviews: 12

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 9
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 2 0 1 9
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Would recommend it to anyone living in the area!


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: ErrHuman on 2014-07-21

Pros: Brilliant friendly atmosphere
Cons: The usual with smaller dropzones, Kansas wind

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started as an AFF student last Fall, got caught out by the winter, and finally got my licence last summer, and sadly had to move on. Its a fabulous place to learn to skydive in, and everyone is super-friendly and always willing to answer my stupid beginner's questions. In fact everyone was so friendly that I was nearly always able to hitch a ride for my carless self out from Lawrence. Kansas can get a bit windy though, but thems the breaks!
(Review ID:8587)


Awesome people = Awesome dropzone


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: Stearny on 2011-12-19

Pros: Awesome coaches, tandem instructors, local upjumpers
Cons: C-182 (if you are not into cranking out jumps its enough for me)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am a local upjumper and got my license at Skydive Kansas (so my opinions might be a tad bias). My mother, father, and sister have all made tandems at SDK. There is typically a nice mix between tandem students and experienced upjumpers. I have been to other dropzone across the country and have not found nicer people who genuinely care not only about your safety but also about you personally. Everyone that walks through the door is a friend.

For experienced jumpers there are a couple of drawbacks that accompany a smaller dropzone (limited gear rentals, lower capacity, and rather strict WL limits).

There is a dropzone about an hour closer to me than SDK, however; the people make the extra drive worth it. SDK is a great place to make a skydive!

Blue Skies

(Review ID:6959)


Reasoning


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: pvusmcsniper on 2011-09-17

Pros: Friendliness
Cons: Landing!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just started my adventures in skydiving, and am pursuing my license thru skydive kansas. I am very lucky to have found such a great dz with extremely easy-going staff, and reg upjumpers who love answering questions about almost anything. I don't feel like an outsider, and EVERYONE is respectable and kind to each other which is awesome! Since I am new, I didn't know that the landing area at sdks was (considered by many in the sport) very narrow and short, but I think that only makes me to be more accurate. I landed my own canopy on my first AFF with no problems, so I have confidence anyone can do it! I will admit, this was not my first DZ, but the first DZ I went to (I will not name) ignored me, and I sat by myself, in their hangar, twiddling my thumbs. No one said hi, and eventually I left just as I came; unnoticed and unimportant to them. I am really glad I found SDKS... now it's like my weekend family/home!
(Review ID:6768)


Great crew...had a blast!


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: jhamlin on 2011-04-04

Pros: friendly, sense of humor, informative, supportive, excited
Cons: Only 1 -- my goggles were poor. They would not stay tight and fell off during free fall

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was my first experience with sky diving and everybody at Sky Dive Kansas did a great job of making my experience one I will never forget. Jen was great! Doug was amazing and I will ask for him by name next time. The best advice on the day -- "You want to keep the furniture in the middle of the room" - Doug... Emily did a fantastic job with the photography too. From the time we showed up to the time we left I felt like part of the family. I can't wait to do it again! Thank you Sky Dive Kansas for a great day!!!
(Review ID:6305)


Family DZ


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: Jumper519 on 2006-10-22

Pros: Normally 2 Aircraft, Great People, Good Student Program.
Cons: Wind (it's Ks), narrow landing area but good outs.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Just attended the Brian Germain Canopy Course @ Skydive Kansas. Like always a very professional atmosphere and fun people to jump with and be around. The Course was fantastic even though we got less than one day of jumping in due to rain and wind. Jumpers from this part of the country missed a great opportunity if they were not there. Thank you Jen and Jeremy.

Safety is always the priority. Some may complain that Jen's policies or rules are too strict, but it's her show. If you got less than 500 jumps and want to load your canopy over 1.5, I don't want to be around you either. Otherwise...check 'em out!

(Review ID:3478)


If yer in Kansas, check these guys out!


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: point_code on 2006-06-08

Pros: super friendly atmosphere
Cons: small landing area, lot's of large outs though

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very friendly and helpful staff. lot's of hospitality. I'll go back and visit for sure.
(Review ID:3149)


Don't go there if you have an A license and expect to jump


Skydive Kansas Rated 2 by: guitarchicadpie on 2006-06-05

Pros: Easy to find, and nice folks
Cons: Discrimination

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My husband and I went there this past weekend. I have 100 jumps including several bigways, and a B license.
My husband has an A license but only 30 jumps. We drove an hour out of our way to find this place and when we got there, I felt like they discriminated against him, even though he's a licensed jumper. I understand being weary of a new jumper but I still feel like they should have let us do our 2way Belly.
My husband rented his gear from them and I offered to pack for him. They cited that for that reason they wouldn't let him jump because it showed he was too inexperienced!

They were nice folks, but my warning stands that if you're a new jumper DO NOT make your way there.

(Review ID:3138)


Opinion of another Drop Zone Owner


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: skydived19006 on 2005-11-17

Pros: Safety is number one!
Cons: You may not be able to jump your canopy

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I’m DZO of Air Capital Drop Zone in Wichita Kansas, we consider Skydive Kansas our sister DZ and I think of Jen Sharp as my little sister (big sister when it comes to skydiving!).
There are a few things you should know before going to Skydive Kansas if you’re an experienced skydiver. They have wing loading requirements for main parachutes which you may not have seen at other drop zones, look at their web site for details. They will weigh you, if you are overloading the TSO on your reserve you will not jump that reserve at Skydive KS. Jen requires a digital Automatic Activation Device; you will not jump without one.
You will not find a safer student program than that of Skydive Kansas. Jen Sharp is the drop zone owner, chief instructor, and Safety & Training Advisor, I very often consult Jen first when I have a training, or safety related question at my drop zone. Skydive Kansas trains the Tandem Progression method; this allows Jen to personally oversee the instruction of every student.
In short, if you jump gear, or do things that are typically listed as causes of incidents in Parachutist magazine, you probably will not be allowed to jump at Skydive Kansas. Jen Sharp always puts safety as priority #1, regardless of the consequences to the ‘bottom line’. If you’re considering making a first skydive, you will not find a saver place or better people to entrust with your or a family members life!

Martin Myrtle
Drop Zone Owner
Air Capital Drop Zone
Wichita Kansas

(Review ID:1327)


If you want to feel at home - try the land of Ahhhs


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: alw on 2005-08-27

Pros: Friendly, easy to find, low air traffic, good landing area
Cons: Hard to find any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm no sky god and haven't been to 100's of DZ's, but I've got enough frequently flyer miles to get me most of the way to the sun. When I travel I appreciate things that uncomplicate my life and make me feel at home. This is a DZ that does just that. No hassles and an expectation of a "Safety First" attitude. Helpful locals that treat you like you've lived there all your life. Clean orderly equipment and enough lifting power to get me into the air as often as I cared to go.

It's not a big, high density DZ with turbine aircraft, but they know how to put up a 182 load and get the most out of the jump. The trip to altitude gives you great views of the area lakes and the rural Kansas countryside. My non-jumping family came with me and had a great time. Plenty of compfy couches and lawn chairs and a great view of old dad's jump and landing.

I gauge a business by it's service and product. SDK passes on both counts and delivers just what they promise. There aren't too many DZ's in this part of the country and I can really appreciate having one close to my wayward daughter so I have a place to jump when I visit.

If you're in the KC area and want to experience all the ambiance of a "Home Dropzone", give Skydive Kansas a try. Just stear clear of the Kansas Wind Tunnels (A.K.A. tornado) - they're for hard core Xtreme FF only.

(Review ID:2534)


Great place with great staff


Skydive Kansas Rated 5 by: Amfam on 2004-08-15

Pros: The professional staff
Cons: none

Awesome place! Will go back for sure!
(Review ID:1714)
> >|

Write your own Review