Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Jumptown - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.97/5 Average Rating : 4.97/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.97/5
Total Reviews: 30

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 29
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 1 29
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Smaller dropzone with a local feel


Jumptown Rated 5 by: Recap_Correct on 2012-03-21

Pros: Staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I finished my AFF out in Colorado and then went to Jumptown to get some coach jumps. Really awesome group of instructors and coaches.
(Review ID:7064)


nice people, great time.


Jumptown Rated 5 by: rxshea on 2011-07-27

Pros: friendly staff
Cons: can't think of one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First time. Glad it was so awesome. friendly, welcoming, short wait, safe.

Can't wait to go again.

Also I drove 8 hours because my buddy recommended it!

(Review ID:6619)


It's an Otter DZ with the family feel of a single 182 DZ


Jumptown Rated 5 by: Beer on 2010-06-21

Pros: The people, well maintained aircraft, awesome load organizing,
Cons: I'll have to get back to you on that one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I came up to check it out a couple years ago and haven't looked back.
Just about everyone is friendly. Safety is a big thing here. There is an awesome positive learning environment for newer jumpers. Plenty of coaches and people willing to go up and teach you something.
I quickly went from a 100 jump wonder that could barely pull off a 4 way round to doing big ways (anything from base to floating to last diver)
The aircraft is well maintained and the pilot is incredible.
The student gear is well maintained and is some of the newest gear in the industry. Plenty of rental gear for experienced jumpers too.
Absolute confidence in the rigging loft and packers.
It doesn't matter what type of flying you do, there is always people to jump with and load organizing every weekend.


Multiple packing areas.

Huge landing area, the manicured area is C&D only, but the rest is soft sand. Some areas are a bit rough, but it is forgiving.
Camping and showers.
The food trailer rocks.

There aren't enough good things that can be said about JT.

(Review ID:5787)


Great place to start jumping!!!


Jumptown Rated 5 by: dan7the1man1 on 2009-07-22

Pros: Big Landing Area, People, Load organizers, Frrefly coaching, plane, manifest, fire pit, and many more
Cons: wish i could jump more

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I did my first tandem in may of 2007 and loved it. I couldn't start my AFF until June of 2008. It was great. all the instructors were really friendly and very good at teaching. I got my A license here and I am glad I did.
I have been to a few other dropzones and seeing some of the student gear and the landing area i am glad that I can call jumptown my home dropzone.

They always have load organizers for RW and they also have some of the best freefly coaching.

It is just a great environment to hang out in. I try to make it there every weekend and even if I don't jump it is just fun to hang out.

I definitely recommend this dropzone and you should try to make it out here as soon as you can.

(Review ID:5277)


You feel like part of the family


Jumptown Rated 5 by: n888sf on 2009-07-19

Pros: Super nice group of people
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I don't jump but hang out at Jumptown almost every weekend with my son who started AFF in July of 2008 and now has over 120 jumps. I have seen him progress throughout is AAF and one of the most important things at this DZ for me is, that safety is number 1. It is great fun to be there, because everybody is extremely nice and friendly and the staff is highly trained and experienced. Just look at Billy, the Otter Pilot who is flying at Jumptown since 1984.

Check this place out yourself and I guaranty you will love it.

(Review ID:5263)


great place!


Jumptown Rated 5 by: lexdangelo on 2009-07-17

Pros: the staff, the friendly vibe!
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jumped for the first time today and it was AMAZING. I was so scared but everyone at Jumptown was so friendly and fun! It was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had...I even bought another tandem jump for half off and I can't wait to go again soon!

DEFINITELY GO HERE!

(Review ID:5257)


awesome, friendly dz with plenty of experience and people who love to teach


Jumptown Rated 5 by: peanutgallery on 2009-07-15

Pros: load organizing, big landing area, real bathrooms, friendliness, fun jumpers are just as much of a priority as tandems
Cons: can't think of any...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Jumptown is an all around great dz. You are treated like family even if it is not technically your "home dropzone." The load organizing is priceless (literally), and the experience you gain from jumping with the people there you won't find anywhere else. It is super easy to get on a load and do exactly what you want, you won't ever be sitting around or begging for people to jump with. It's a great dz for all experience levels and disciplines. Out of all the dz's I've been to, Jtown remains my favorite!
(Review ID:5254)


Friendly, clean, and professional


Jumptown Rated 5 by: martlet on 2009-07-15

Pros: Super Otter, loads of friendly staff, great student gear, camping, showers, snack shack, what more do you need?
Cons: Long drive, but well worth it. I'd go, even though there are DZ's closer

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
What a great group of jumpers. Their instructors are top notch, they have the best rigger around on staff, dive organizers almost every day that love to take you into their group, clean camping with showers, indoor packing on a padded mat, the Spank'n Otter Grill, the list goes on and on.

I showed up to try skydiving, and never left.

(Review ID:5253)


Amazing DZ experience, facility, and staff!


Jumptown Rated 5 by: SkyPainter on 2008-10-13

Pros: PEOPLE, the planes, gear, TRAINING and vibe!
Cons: A bit of a drive, worth every single mile!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I recently switched to Jumptown to continue with AFF training. The level of instruction, friendliness of the staff, and others - ALL others there - packers, upjumpers, students, office staff, instructors, everyone - is amazing!

I felt right at home, and part of the place the first day!

The planes are new and clean, the gear is new and clean - and they have a lot of it for students. The instructors are just phenomenal..world class jumpers, who become instant friends!

Everyone comes up and says hello to a new face ... ask any question you want to, and you get reliable help.

This is the way a DZ should be run!

BTW - I am 61 going through AFF, and I am not alone there! Lots of POPS and SOS jumpers!

MY new home DZ!!!

(Review ID:4826)


Excellent, world-class DZ for people with ANY experience level!


Jumptown Rated 5 by: FlyinRyan86 on 2008-09-07

Pros: Fastest climbing Otter around, rigging, Gary's Place, coaching, food trailer, friendly manifest folks, the list goes on!
Cons: A little far from home...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I began Skydiving at a Cessna DZ in NY before I switched to Jumptown to finish my student jumps. I now call Jumptown my home DZ.

They have the friendliest, most helpful, experienced staff around! There is always someone willing to jump with me, even though I am new to the sport. I learn a lot on EVERY skydive with these people, whether it's tips on making the point, or exactly what happens when you're late on exit!

When the weather isn't jumpable, stick around and listen to stories, work on that rating you have been meaning to, watch Skydiving videos on the big screen or grab a beer and hang out at the fire (of course only when the plane's tied down)!

FOR FIRST TIMERS: they have very experienced tandem masters, camera people and the pilot is great!

JUMPTOWN, couldn't say a bad thing about it!

(Review ID:4768)
> >|

Write your own Review