Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Palatka - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 5.00/5
Total Reviews: 23

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 23
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 0 23
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great DZ for all kinds of skydivers


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: rohicks on 2013-03-14

Pros: Knowledgeable staff, very experienced, safety oriented
Cons: I wish it was closer to Jax, but other than that nothing yet.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was referred here by a friend that had done her AFF at this DZ. She was right about this DZ they are very friendly, professional, serious about safety, priced reasonably, and are always having fun! If you're in the area this is the place to be for skydiving. They are open Saturday and Sundays, and then open during the week by appointment only and sometimes open up on holidays during the week.

I started my AFF here the weekend of Jan. 19-20, and I was able to get through 2 levels. Looking forward to jumping more and making some good friends here. Their tandems (at this time) are 185, and that's a pretty good price when comparing it to other DZs. If you ever wanted to jump don't hesitate and don't psych yourself out about it; head to Skydive Palatka and take the plunge!

(Review ID:7828)


most welcoming community of skydivers around


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: fallinggator on 2011-10-13

Pros: Though I have no complaints, the crowd at Palatka is what stands out most
Cons: none!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just started jumping a few months ago an recently got my A license. From start to current, this DZ has been given me the most incredible experience. Though it is a smaller DZ, the people here are incredible. From tandem to student to fun jumper or swooper - everyone is welcomed with open arms. I was made to feel a part of the family since back when I started AFF, and I have only become closer to the people here since then. Art is the DZO and is one of the coolest and most genuine guys around. His love for the sport is obvious, and overrides all other worries. If you are having fun, then he is too. I am grateful to have such an amazing home away from home on the weekends during the rest of my time at UF. The loads go quick, the facilities are minimal but have everything you could need, and the view is gorgeous. So if you are ever in town, please come visit our Skydive Palatka family!
(Review ID:6845)


Old timer back


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: tuffjump on 2011-05-29

Pros: Too many to list
Cons: Zero, ziltch

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm an old (64) jumper that has been out of the sport since 1995 that wanted to make a jump on my 65th birthday. I drove over to Palatka nervous that I would be shunned because of my age and lack of jumping. I couldn't have been more mistaken. I found that I was almost a youngster there.I ran across jumpers that I was jumping with in the 70s. Pop Poppenhager D-47 77 years old was there plus several others. Three days later I was in the hospital having two stents being put in. Returning to the dz to get my aff course money back figuring that was the end everybody rallied around me offering suggestions and encouragement about returning. I was GIVEN a rig by an old jumper Jack LaLonde D-4865 72 yo (thanks Jack) and was offered by many to teach me the new ways of packing. All of my previous fears of being shunned by the jumpers dissappeared. It was awesome, it was like a return to family. Young dudes and dudettes came up encouraging me and offering support.I'm now trying to find a doctor to give me a pass to continue jumping ( say skydiving to a doctor and watch a freakout)and everyone is behind me.Even if I can't jump again ( that ain't going to happen) I will continue going to the dz because of the people and the awesome atmosphere. I HIGHLY recommend the dz to experenced jumpers and those wanting to make their first.....I'll be there when you do!
(Review ID:6438)


Great DZ in the north Florida area


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: Tseng on 2011-03-27

Pros: Friendly Staff, Awesome DZO, Great Vibe
Cons: After hours entry, smaller packing area

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I dropped by Palatka a while back for the Falling Gators Collegiate boogie. If you are arriving at this DZ after dark, call before hand and let them know you're coming! There is a gate at the airport that closes after dark.

Had an awesome weekend hanging out with a bunch of the UF Falling Gators and Art, the DZO is one of the most down to earth people I've met. It's nice to see a DZO actively involved in all aspects of his DZ. During the weekend I saw him rig, pack when needed and take tandems.

They had the Skyvan from Deland for the weekend, so I didn't get a chance to jump the Caravan, but from takeoff to exit it seemed pretty fast from the ground. The main landing area is somewhat tight for newer jumpers, but they do have a very large open alternate landing area with pickup.

Overall an awesome experience and will definitely be back to this DZ whenever I am in FL.

(Review ID:6290)


best dz in florida


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: jdm133 on 2010-12-07

Pros: very nice people, great plane, very friendly
Cons: non

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
the people at palatka make the dropzone. we were only down there for the weekend and from the first time we met them they all remembered are names, 8 of us. the DZO art is the nicest guy ever, on are second day we wanted to get in one more jump but no one but us wanted on it at first so he was about to send the caravan with just 5 of us but by the time the load left there was 17 of us on board and it was a great jump. even on are last day he did 2 8-ways with us. the airplane there is also great it only took 14 min to get a full load to 13.500 and its really nice looking to. to me palatka is the best and most friendly drop zone i have been to yet.
(Review ID:6136)


Skydive Palatka is a super drop zone to jump at with great people.


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: boblillo on 2010-03-09

Pros: Professional staff, nice aircraft, nice view...This drop zone rules!!!
Cons: It's 7 hours from Miami....Wish it was closer LOL!!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I just came back from Palatka after doing 7 fun jumps for the weekend and it was great...Their staff is awesome and the facilities great...Also the prices for jumps and gear rental are great and unbeatable....Thanks Jeff, Shane, J Michael, Julia, Jairo, Chuck, Juan, Chip and all the great, friendly staff and fun jumpers out there...YOU GUYS ROCK!...I highly recommend this dz to anyone who wants to get away for a weekend and hang out in a nice facility with great people. Give it up for Skydive Palatka!
(Review ID:5612)


Best DZ around!


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: jpw2o05 on 2009-05-31

Pros: The jumpers, the staff, everything.
Cons: Nothing.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I spent a year in this area and spent almost every weekend at Skydive Palatka. Everyone is very friendly, the staff has plenty of AFF instructors, coaches, videographers, TMs. Awesome atmosphere. If you want to do big way RW's, there's always a crew there welcoming all experience levels. Same goes with freeflyers and they have a lot of wingsuiters. There is always a boogie coming up or some event. Definitely worth checking out!
(Review ID:5146)


Thumbs up to Skydive Palatka


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: JarheadNYC on 2009-02-28

Pros: Friendly staff & great people
Cons: Wish they had a more items to sell

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Left NYC to go down to Palatka, Florida to get my AFF. The staff were awesome and very professional. Even with two days of bad weather I completed my AFF and were jumping with the local falling gators. Art the owner and his staff made me feel right at home. I always had my rig packed, gear available, & coaches willing to assist me on free fall & tricks. Eveyone was great locals giving me tips on freestyle exits and offering to take me to the Orlando wind tunnel to work on my stability. Overall I had the time of my life. I even had my own call sign one of the pilots used to shout over the air "Yankee in the air" everytime I exited the plane. Overall great staff & great times at Palatka I will make the trip again with friends that what to do AFF! The prices were also great for AFF, and jump tickets.
(Review ID:4990)


A fun turbine DZ with a friendly crowd


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: ryan_d_sucks on 2009-02-19

Pros: Awesome people, nice plane, great facilities, tons of open space on the airport
Cons: Its 10 hours away from me.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I made the 10 hour trip down to Skydive Palatka completely alone. I was scared the trip could turn out to be a total bust since I didn't know anyone at all at the DZ. However, I was wrong! Upon getting out of my car and walking towards the packing area I was told to get my rig out and get on a load! I literally got straight out of my car and into the plane!

The people at Skydive Palatka are awesome. In my few days on the DZ I met tons of cool people, made some really fun jumps, and found a DZ I would love to visit again and again. I met people of all backgrounds and ages, including those barely old enough to jump to those with triple digit D-numbers.

There was all sorts of jumping going on-- bigways, RW, freeflying, wingsuiting, etc. Everyone was super friendly and willing to jump with me. A jumper of any discipline could find someone to jump with.

The facilities are great, especially the shower. The Caravan holds a good number of jumpers, and gets to 13.5 pretty quick. I have absolutely no complaints, and I'm positive that I would be a much better skydiver if I jumped here all the time.

(Review ID:4983)


Great DZ!


Skydive Palatka Rated 5 by: millertimeunc on 2008-06-03

Pros: Too many to list
Cons: Packing area gets crowded sometimes

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I came to Palatka for the first time in January. After having jumped there for several months and a couple times at a few other Florida DZ's, I can say I'm much happier jumping at Palatka than anywhere else. No matter what your discipline of choice, there is always someone to jump with. Facilities include HOT showers, camping areas, and plenty of dining options within a 5 minute drive. For those interested in flying instead of falling, there is also a growing wingsuit following at Palatka.
Art definitely takes care of anyone jumping at his DZ, student or fun-jumper. Very safety-minded. The main landing area is a little tight, but there is a much larger landing area a short walk away. If you're a UF student and want to learn to skydive, coming to Palatka is a no-brainer as members of the UF skydive club get all sorts of benefits. Makes me wish I were back in college again...

(Review ID:4554)
> >|

Write your own Review