Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Black Knights Parachute Centre - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.20/5 Average Rating : 4.20/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.20/5
Total Reviews: 30

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 4 Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 2 Times: 22
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  4 2 0 2 22
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great DZ for fun jumpers


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 5 by: mcpep on 2015-06-29

Pros: Fast climbing plane, great staff, good opportunities for progression
Cons: Not much internet access

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great DZ! Blackhawk is fast to altitude, good social scene, lots of coaching available / courses to sit. Not sure how the last jumper came to the conclusion that it's a tandem factory, the CCI is very keen for his regular jumpers to progress and puts a lot of time into this.. Can't recommend enough, will jump there for a long time.
(Review ID:8802)


Cow pat fields


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 1 by: Singlet on 2015-03-29

Pros: Fast Plane
Cons: Pretty much everything

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Family run business everyone else seems to be pushed out. All good staff gone and dropzone going down hill rapidly. This place is definitely a tandem factory with all fun jumpers leaving because of the way they are treated. Keep on driving on M6 and go to Cark skydive North West as it is a much better dropzone and are actually friendly towards experienced skydivers and students. Oh if you like cow pat on your expensive rig and to be part of tandem factory Black Knights is for you!
(Review ID:8748)


Lovely DZ


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 5 by: Cabbagehead1620 on 2014-07-07

Pros: Very professional, Fast climbing plane, well organised, great cafe
Cons: Long way from a shop unless you have a car, bring plenty of cigs ;)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Location
I did a tandem here a couple of years ago and found there to be a very welcoming atmosphere. Since completing my AFF, I have been jumping here at least once a month, and found it to be a very friendly club, with great people, and professional instructors. The plane is fast to get to altitude, and all the hire kit is in good condition. 2 large packing areas, good cafe, and free camping. Bunkhouse available, but needs to be booked. Looking forward to my next visit :D
(Review ID:8567)


Small but productive DZ, great CCI


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 5 by: jockbauer on 2013-06-17

Pros: Friendly regulars, variety of events, VERY quick aircraft
Cons: None I can think of

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been using Black Knights as my home DZ this year due to being based up north, and honestly I can't think of a bad thing to say about it. If it was a tandem factory before, it certainly isn't now Paul is CCI. I've been down on numerous occasions where conditions have been prohibitive for tandems, but the centre stayed open purely waiting for a window to get a lift up for fun jumpers.

There's always something to do here as well - in the past 3 months I've gained FF1, done my first CF jump, and a big-way skills weekend. There's also a strong wing-suiting contingent, so there really is something for everyone.

If you're in the area, it's well worth a visit.

(Review ID:7986)


It's a DZ revamped!


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 5 by: toomuchpresha on 2013-06-12

Pros: Superb DZ, Great views, great people
Cons: Not many to be fair

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The centre has changed dramatically since it was taken over by Paul Yeoman. Jeff is no longer there.
I understand the mixed reviews from those days.

Please come up and give it a go. It's very friendly, the CCI prioritises club/exp jumpers and we have resident coaches now. We also have a Blackhawk Grand Caravan that takes 16 people to 15'000ft in around 12 minutes.

We have active Wingsuit, Freefly and FS groups that always welcome new jumpers.

We hope to see you all soon.

(Review ID:7973)


Tandem mill


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 1 by: Justpin on 2012-06-06

Pros: None that I can think of.
Cons: Feels clicky, tandem mill

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Alot of peeps told me not to come here. I came here anyway. I wanted to freefly.

Home DZ no coaches for freefly.

Instructors regulars all warmed me against coming here. Geff only wants tandems. They don't want skydivers, I jumped here for 5 years never again.

I visited one sunny morning. The really hot frealy weeks in Mar a while ago now. Id gone home about 4 hours later. Parking up they seemed real busy. I go to sign up and I'm asked if I'm here to do a tandem.

No.

I'm asked to come back later as they are very busy. An hour and a half later same thing happens again.

Come back later.

I go explore the packing she 20 or so tandems from a guy I think I recognise from Strath. Alot of people in sausage suits just standing around feels unapproachable and cold.

Watching the people getting on board all just tandems and camera fliers. Alot of hotloading tandems as well.

One last time at noon. I go into the office again. I'm given a dirty annoyed get out of my face look I'm told they are very busy and to come back later.

I've been waiting hours I tell them.

I'd told curtley others have been waiting for longer more tandems arriving.

I go home.

(Review ID:7286)


a good one to visit...


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 5 by: heinzbeans on 2012-02-29

Pros: Exllent vibe for such a small DZ
Cons: Good old British weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have my own (very cheap) second hand gear to put 200 jumps on before I buy something more permanent, so I won't bang on about hire gear or raps courses like the last few reviews.

I visited this dz in the summer of 2011 and lended up staying the whole weekend in my tent. Great vibe, hot showers and good enough canteen. They coped amazingly well with the manifest and the one aircraft they use. Infact that weekend they smashed all previous records held for the most lifts in one day. So there was no shortage of lifts and only encouragement to jump on more. Big welldone to the French pilot.

There was all a fancy dress event, disco and BBQ on during my stay. Although there is no bar at this dz, there is a help your self beer fridge. And the beer fines are rife to keep it topped up. So if you have a cut away, gain a FS1 qual or its your first time at this dz don't forget a crate of 24 for the fridge. Im sure you get the picture...

(Review ID:7033)


RAPS forever


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 1 by: Tatetatetate on 2011-09-11

Pros: None
Cons: Round reserves

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Did part of my RAPS here, simply got sick of coming and sitting around due to winds or tandems taking priority. They use round reserves which mean the wind limits are stupidly low, meaning you never get any jumps in.

I went elsehere (Langar) where they used square square rigs and got to Cat 8 PDQ!

(Review ID:6760)


Something changed


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 1 by: Kenworthy on 2011-07-13

Pros: Easy to get to, thats it
Cons: Rigs seem to be in bad condition

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Something changed.... I qualified here in the 00s.

I came back in 2011 to visit old faces and this DZ has changed beyond recognition. Unfortunately not in a good way. Instead it went the other way instead.

The place has turned into a tandem factory. Tandems on weekends are jumped till 3pm on weekends. You get the odd single slot on these jumps if you want to do a solo. Who wants to do boring solos especially as you have to dive out, poised? Floating no way Jose if you're on one of these 'filler' slots.

This is bad in more ways than one as the tandem guys are also the coaches and instructors. So if you want to get your stickers simply it isn't going to happen. Too much money in tandems, experienced people don't make them enough bucks. The experienced guys aren't exactly appreciated either. A tatty welcome sign which has been there for years, a small packing shed and no plug and play free to use screen to debrief on jumps. Everybody uses the tiny screens on their camera equipment instead or brings a laptop (the WIFI is expensive by the way, their website is hideously out of date).

The staff seem surlier than before and generally complain about the management muttering under their breath which sets a bad vibe to the DZ in the first place. They do try to be funny but end up ripping into people instead and making deeply unfunny and deeply insulting derogatory remarks.

Regarding the other stuff, the landing area is still large and unfettered, though they still have two wind socks one of which is in a turbulence zone and is unreliable. Why don't they get rid of it or move it?

There is also negligible post jumping socialising either, when the plane gets taken in people just vanish. And the DZ lacks any fun events, no scrambles, no boogies, nothing other than tandems to make the big bucks and the greatly thinned out regulars. I was unpleasantly surprised by the way many newly qualified folks were pretty much abandoned, as I said progression? Forget about it.

The absolutely most damning thing I saw was the blaise attitude towards the rental gear. I was most surprised to open my rental canopy (cypress was being serviced) and see unstowed brakes, knots in the brake lines and holes in the sliders on more than one set of kit. I might have less than 500 jumps but I can see this is dangerous.

(Review ID:6573)


Changed my mind


Black Knights Parachute Centre Rated 2 by: Lloyd1983 on 2011-06-21

Pros: FAST porter,
Cons: Porter is cramped sometimes, no onsite rigger, limited hire kit

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
It is said familiarity breeds contempt and I've visited this place a few more times and getting to know the place I have changed my mind about this place. The honeymoon period is over and I saw things properly.

The good points I initially mentioned in my review still stand.

The Porter is extremely fast and it is turned around extremely quickly a cycle is 4 back to back lifts.

The landing area is still huge.

The kit for hire is still about the same.

They still go up to 14K most of the time anyway. All good things, but this is overshadowed by the negatives. Good things yes but a couple of good things don't make a great DZ. As I realised over the three weekends I spent here. Simply this DZ isn't much fun and I drove away at the end of the weekend feeling unhappy and annoyed. Which isn't the way it is supposed to be at DZs. Its supposed to be something you enjoy and something that makes you happy and feel good. But this place left a bitter taste in my mouth.

The reasons for this is that this DZ is spookily quiet, not in terms of numbers but the fact that people tend not to talk to each other much. Initially I thought it might be a bit cliquey since there were obvious groups. People in their own jump suits with 100s of jumps. People in borrowed jump suits hanging together. But lots of
people sitting alone not chatting to others and being ignored by others. I reckond cliquey but it's not it's something worse. It's the backstabbers, the haters and the politics. All which make for an unhappy experience so there is a tense feeling around and that for such a DZ they have very very few regulars.

Maybe the management will change things but visiting some of their rivals this has been their reputation for a while.

It was OK while it lasted.

(Review ID:6510)
> >|

Write your own Review