Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Elsinore - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.82/5 Average Rating : 4.82/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.82/5
Total Reviews: 55

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 3 Times: 50
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 0 3 50
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Best DZ in California


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: fallingIrish on 2014-02-09

Pros: Price, view, weather, friendly, awesome skills camps/boogies
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First off, this is the best dz I've been to. Its overall compatibility for tandems and fun jumpers is a HUGE plus. I feel completely comfortable bringing my friends/fam here to get a tandem jump in and not have worry about waiting around for hrs to get on a load. They also can't complain about $189 for a jump, especially with an awesome view of Dana Point/Catalina Island and the mountains. I wouldn't recommend a tandem anywhere else.

As far as fun jumping goes, I have never felt unwelcome at Elsinore like I have at a few other dzs in CA. The block prices make it a killer deal that is next to impossible to beat. There is a large amount of landing area on both sides of the runway. Instructors/Staff are incredible and will make you feel right at home.


(Review ID:8366)


Belly or free fly… or even CRW they have it


Skydive Elsinore Rated 4 by: 03dare on 2014-02-04

Pros: Awesome vibe and always load organizers on the weekends!
Cons: Packing area can get a bit crowded on busy days

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The recent addition of weekend organizers for both belly and free fly is awesome! Instead of trying to find other belly flyers, or trying to find someone to help you with your sit fly, there are organizers who bring the other fun jumpers to you!
The EXCEL camps are awesome too! As a newer jumper it is an amazing learning experience to be able to do 2 ways and four ways with actual competitive skydivers and even debrief after. oh, and thats free of charge!! (minus the jump of course!)

(Review ID:8362)


Great group of people, great atmosphere, safe instructors


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: glennryan13 on 2014-02-04

Pros: Great instructors, friendly environment, nice views, lots of events!
Cons: Could use some more food

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Having done my first tandem at the shoddy and overpriced skydiving business in Camarillo, it was refreshing to see a dropzone where I felt confident in my instructors and gear. These guys know what they're doing and are all about having a good time while maintaining the highest level of safety possible. I ended up doing my AFF here and ever since I have never felt the need or desire to go anyway else. There's always a great group at the dropzone, and events such as skills camps, competitions, and parties are held frequently. Everyone is extremely welcoming, and the dropzone really is a community. They have some food, but it's pretty basic. I wish they bbq'd some tritip or something on weekends, but at least there's an In-n-out right down the road!
(Review ID:8361)


Best DZ vibe around, great weather, excellent people


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: pajaritoprime on 2014-02-04

Pros: Beautiful Ocean/Mountain views. Great Planes, Best People!
Cons: ?

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hi,

So I learned everything I know thus far at Skydive Elsinore. I did my AFF here as well as another hundred jumps. I have been to a few other dropzones in my time but Elsinore is by far my favorite. It has a huge student landing area, meaning I'm always feeling safe regardless of winds, canopy traffic.

The people here are the best. Everyone is quite friendly to us new jumpers and is willing to teach, coach, discuss safety, review video and jump. Nightlife is great as well as there are always a bunch of different people hanging out after the sun has set. I've stayed in the bunkhouse quite a few times as well camped on site, and the facilities are excellent.

I would highly recommend Elsinore to anyone from newbies to tandems to SkyGods, though I'm sure most have already been here!

(Review ID:8360)


Great place to learn!


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: borneomj on 2013-07-09

Pros: Friendly knowledgable staff
Cons: Spelling skills...please, not another "couch" jump ;-)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
First off I will put out the disclaimer that I only have 29 jumps and have never jumped at another DZ. With that said, I feel very comfortable recommend Elisnore to anyone that wants to learn how to skydive. I have worked with 16 different instructors and coaches during my short career and everyone of them has been professional, knowledgable, and friendly. I am continually impressed with the level of instruction and the entire staff's genuine concern for the customer.
For example, my first jump I let up on the flare at landing and hit hard...so hard I couldn't wear a boot to work for a week. Lisa, the kind woman that picks me up when I land in the boonies, was very concerned and ensured I was in fact alive and ok. Then the staff got me an ice pack for my foot. I have heard of other places where newbies get critcized, not at Elisnore. The staff will let you know you screwed up but in a constructive manner that is aimed to make you a better, safer skydiver.

That brings me to my 2nd story, On one of my first few jumps I landed pretty close to the runway and the wind picked up my canopy and dragged me a few feet onto the runway. Obviously this wasn't intentional and it is potentially very dangerous. I had a talk with Lob (sp?) and he taught why we want to avoid the runway, how to make minor corrections on final, and then another staff member taught me how to rapidly collapse my canopy if the wind catches it. Again, very proffesional and constructive critism.
This past weekend, 1st time jumping after getting my A-License, I showed up to the DZ and was going to do more solos...since I don't have any buddies to jump with yet. Sydney, a kind soul that always remebers my name, told me about the Excel coaching session that was going on that day. It was an awesome experience doing 3 and 4-ways the first weekend I had my A-License and getting great coaching for free.
The moral of this story is that Elisnore is a great DZ and all the people (staff, jumpers, Tony the hot dog guy) are awesome.
GO GATORS SEMPER FIDELIS

(Review ID:8034)


Worst Experience


Skydive Elsinore Rated 1 by: sneakyj0e on 2013-07-08

Pros: Has shade
Cons: Price, professionalism, Bad customer service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I dropped off my rig to have the reserve repacked. They told me it would take 4 days, it's been well over a month and a half now, I JUST got it back today. I never received any phone calls about it's status either, they claim they had staff issues, but no common courtesy to call me and explain? I had to contact them via Facebook to get a response, which tells me their staff is more concerned about status updates than actually getting real work done. It only gets worse from here. I go in to get my rig, and the people at the service counter wants to charge more money for my main to be packed, WHICH IT WASN"T EVEN PACKED. I was looking straight at my rig, main detached and said "yeah no not paying for that, because you guys haven't did that work" which took them even longer to figure out what was going on. Very disappointed. They stamp on my reserve repack was on June 20th, it's not July 8. So even after it was packed it took them almost 20 days to get it back to me? I dropped it off on the 28th of May. Not so much as a discount for anything, or an apology from the sales person at the counter. Don't go to this dropzone if you want any kind of good service. I will never go here again.
(Review ID:8031)


Great place


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: hotham15 on 2013-06-13

Pros: Staff, Fun Jumpers, Vibe, Packing Area & DZ
Cons: non

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went here as a fun jumper in Feb/Mar 2013 after being very underwhelmed with another nearby DZ (rimes with Paris).

I only completed about 25 fun jumps but had such an amazing time. This place is a cornerstone of skydiving history for sure. It is a lovely DZ, well maintained, load organising and SUPER professional. The local jumpers were plentiful and friendly. They also have one of the first fully fledged WINGSUIT school. I will be going back for sure.

Be aware that the catering facilities are a little sparse and there is not DZ bar. People do bring a few cold ones to have at then end of the day which is nice. I think this ads to the focus on skydiving and eliminates the slightly unwanted alcohol related sideline that often accompanies skydiving.

(Review ID:7981)


Skydive Elsinore has everything one is looking for!


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: skymarconato on 2013-05-16

Pros: Variety of disciplines, Friendliness and Location
Cons: No Cons

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
One year ago I decided to learn how to skydive and spend 3 months jumping in a dropzone.

My choice was Skydive Elsinore, and it was the best I could have taken!

The staff is super friendly, there are lots of really experienced instructors who respect you and encourage you to learn and improve!

The landing area is huge and they explain you carefully the landing patterns. There is plenty of space for the students, and if you land really far a van would pick you up.

Throughout the three months I was in Elsinore, there were many events for all sorts of experience levels and disciplines going on.

I was even luckier to be there for Bridge the Gap, an awesome event that literally bridge the gaps between you and the manufactures, coaches and disciplines you want to get in.

Once I completed 200 jumps I even learnt to wingsuit at Skydive Elsinore Wingsuit School.

After 300 jumps and 3 months living in a tent in the Dropzone, experiencing the great vibe and events, there's no other place I would recommend for someone to learn or improve the skills.

(Review ID:7917)


Completed A License There


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: danegerous on 2013-05-07

Pros: Great staff, friendly comfortable atmosphere, lots of space, great views
Cons: Distance from major cities

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I completed my A License at Elsinore, and probably worked with 15 different instructors, all of whom were very helpful and knowledgeable. I plan on continuing to jump here as long as I'm in the sport. Having nothing bad to say about it.
(Review ID:7901)


Lovely dz.


Skydive Elsinore Rated 5 by: flyngrudy18 on 2013-02-22

Pros: Planes, view, coaches, packers, friendliness.
Cons: No real food and beverage facilities on place.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Skydive Elsinore is lovely dz.

Once I' have reached the manifest I' noted the their staff: all beautiful girls, very friendly and helpful, a good start.

The curious thing was the waiver: before signing the video recoding, and you have to read loudly the final part, stating:I' have carefully read and understood this document, and say your name and date.

They say "that's California", but the day after in Perris was not required such procedure.
The planes are good, fitted with heating system and benches, making to ride to the altitude comfortable, considering the low temperature in February.

They have good professional coaches and organizer, also the packer work very fast and ensure you have nice, smooth opening.

Overhaul I' had a grat day, 7 jumps, enjoy the view of Elsinore Lake.

The landing area is big, and, in case you land far from the packing area (like me) they have a van to pick you up.
The only downside is the fact there's no a food and bar facilities other than a trolley which sells some snacks.

Personally I' don't care if the dz does not sell alcohol, but having an hot coffee when is cold, or cold drinks during the hot season make the difference.

For those who can travel like myself, Skydive Elsinore is must dz to visit.

(Review ID:7810)
> >|

Write your own Review