Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Skydive Delmarva - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.81/5 Average Rating : 4.81/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.81/5
Total Reviews: 31

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 0 Times: 3 Times: 27
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 1 0 3 27
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great Staff, Very welcoming to Fun Jumpers


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: Rivello on 2012-08-27

Pros: Super Friendly, Good Vibe, Big Landing, Nice people
Cons: we went to 12.2k, use to 13.5k but 12.2k is plenty high

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Was headed to the beach for the weekend and decided to stop and try Skydive Delmarva, only visited a few DZ other then my Home DZ and I felt right at home. Its in the middle of Farm country and the landing area is Big, the Staff was super friendly, offered me cookies and since I was gonna do a solo b/c I was alone but an instructor said "Were not gonna make u do a solo " and we did a nice 2way sit wit some hand a foot docks. ended up with a nasty hard opening and alot of lines twist but plenty of airspace and not to much canopy traffic. Overall Great place for fun jumpers. I hear the weekends are busy, I went on a thurs (During the week they have a few loads a day depending on tandems) but they have a calendar on their site so you can check to see when they'll be open which was GREAT.

Blue skies

(Review ID:7573)


very slow place


Skydive Delmarva Rated 2 by: Jumperintheair on 2011-07-26

Pros: wide open landing area
Cons: far from the metro area's, not many loads

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I jumped in Laurel half a summer in 1997 when in was under a different owner (Gordon Riner). The place was very busy, loads flying from sun up to sun set (and maybe a bit past sunset ;), always lots of tandems, aff, plenty of fun jumpers of all different experience levels, ect. I went there a few times this summer (2011) and can not believe how slow the place is. The Twin Otter is nice, but rarely if ever turns loads around. The pace is very slow, fly a load, land, wait 20 minutes, then put the next load on a 20 minute call. As a fun jumper your lucky to get 4 jumps in a day just cause loads don't fly that often, and they often stop jumping as early as 3-5pm. The pilot is very bitter and rude to the fun jumpers and seems to hate flying. The facilities are old and outdated (same exact facilities as 1997, which at that time were showing there age) The only change I saw (other than lack of business) was they added a wooden 'shed' which serves as manifest. Was sad to see the place as gone so far done hill from my 1997 visit.
(Review ID:6617)


Doesn't get any better than this.


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: zephyrzone on 2011-07-21

Pros: Staff and regulars quickly become great friends!
Cons: Landing area is hard to spot.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've been to other drop zones for tandems and my first jump course, but chose Skydive Delmarva to complete my AFF because of the incredibly awesome people and atmosphere. This is THE spot if you live in the Baltimore/DC or surrounding areas. The instructors are incredible, the packing hangar is comfortable with plenty of places to crash and you'll feel right at home from Day 1.

Dave, the DZO is friendly and professional. He always sounds happy to hear from you. "Shazam" in manifest is on the ball for every load.

And to validate a previous post, "YES" Delmarva has the hottest packers I've ever seen. I mean, I guess that's not a good reason to come back...but it is a fact.

Nearly a 3 hour drive and it's my home away from home!

-Love you guys!-

Cue Ball

(Review ID:6601)


A home away from home!!


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: audiobahn18s on 2010-05-29

Pros: Friendly Staff!! Twin Otter!! Fast Turnaround Time!! Beautiful Scenery!!
Cons: Can be Breezy in the Spring Time!!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I completed my AFF training here and I couldn't be happier with this DZ. There are plenty of instructors, each with there own style and unique ability to teach students the skills they need to be a safe skydiver. All the staff is very friendly. I havent come across anyone who wouldn't take a second to answer a question.
The twin otter keeps things running smoothly, from the tandems, to students and fun jumpers. If you have to wait, it isn't for long. There are plenty of old comfy couches to relax on in between jumps, and lots of open areas to pack. For those who dont live nearby, there is plenty of room to camp out for the weekend. And with showers available, you can wash away your hangover from the wild weekend nights.
The scenery here is beautiful. On a clear day, you can see the Chesapeake bay to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. The farm fields stretch for miles and are not only great to look at, but offer plenty of outs if the need should arrise.
This DZ has it all...for the one time tandem jumper to the Students and the experienced jumpers...you won't be dissapointed. This place is a home away from home!!

(Review ID:5731)


The people are great, the view is decent, the loads are always going and your pack job is done by a


Skydive Delmarva Rated 4 by: devarona on 2009-10-20

Pros: The hottest packer in the world works here
Cons: The otter is kind of slow and the place is a bit far

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The scenery was good indeed, the packing area was also good, the couches in which I passed out for a few minutes were dirty and comfortable, just the way they should be. There's Freeflyers, RWs and just about any type of fun jumper. There was a pretty interesting collection of seniors around old enough to be my great, great grandfather that were pretty good in RW. I missed the party that night since I had to go back to MD but anyways... my home DZ is all the way back in Puerto Rico and its beautiful there but Delmarva has an amazing view of the nearby river! The people were more than nice, they were just great, very hospitable and eager to teach a new jumper. The best thing this place has to offer is that damn packer thats like a wannabe version of Avril Lavigne or some other punk whatever hot girl and she likes to pack in her pajamas. I will be back next year, without a doubt, and I hope I get to see some of the locals from Delmarva back home in Puerto Rico's boogie.
(Review ID:5436)


You won't buy the farm at Del Marva


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: tasmanianjumper on 2009-10-04

Pros: Really cool vibe, great staff, relatively inexpensive
Cons: Grass airfield in agricultural area confusing LZ area, need aireal photo

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
On my AFF grad dive I had an extremely positive experience visiting skydive del marva. I really like the DZ but think that the DZ area should be delinated better as with a grass Airfield and farmland surrounding it could be marked better with paint on the roof.. VS-17 panels.. Something! All that being said thier professionalism and dedication is superb.. After a dusk skydive I asked one of the riggers if he would minds giving me a on the spot class. He had no issues discussing the finer points of rigging unt 930 pm... This DZ is truly outstanding and well worth the drive even from Baltimore!! Great group of folks who love skydiving.. As a matter of fact.. I have only 12 jumps but was corrected for the first time about my boots with hooks on them being a no go due to getting caught in suspension lines if I am in an unstable position after parachute deployment. Was never mentioned before at any other DZs. If they had warmer weather and less wind it would be my year round mecca for skydiving on the east coast.
(Review ID:5405)


Laid back, jumping


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: climboutandhang on 2009-06-20

Pros: friendly atmosphere
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is a awesome place to jump, great people, great landing area, laid back vibe..
reasonable prices....this is the best place in the north to jump.

(Review ID:5186)


Hands down the best DZ in the DC/Baltimore area


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: x46255 on 2008-12-20

Pros: Amazing people, Professional staff, Beautiful scenery, Great parties
Cons: Distance from DC/Baltimore

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I learned how to skydive at Delmarva after checking out all of the DZs in the area. They had the best value and their instructors are second to none. Even though other DZs are closer to home, I will always call Delmarva my home DZ...the people are some of the best around and will always make you feel like family. Additionally, the safety and professionalism of the instructors and staff is top notch...there is simply no better place to learn how to skydive in the mid-Atlantic. Whether doing a tandem, progressing as a student, or fun jumping, head to Delmarva and you won't be dissappointed!
(Review ID:4920)


One of the best DZ's I have ever been to


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: prodiver913 on 2008-08-09

Pros: Landing area, plane, facilities, vibe
Cons: none that I could see

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great place. Places to crash everywhere. T.V,free wifi, showers and bathrooms, tons of food. This place rocks. Landing area and pattern are awesome. Definitely recommend.
(Review ID:4699)


What a fun place to jump


Skydive Delmarva Rated 5 by: sumdumguyinpoo on 2007-10-10

Pros: Great vibe, great people
Cons: Can be tricky to spot dz if you are not familiar with it

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I came out on Labor Day to check this place out and fell in love with it. What a fun place to jump. Their twin otter is old, but seems to be in great working order. I met a lot of great skydivers that I hope to meet again someday soon. Manifest has some of the friendliest people I have ever encountered in a manifest...they are definitely in my top 5...the only thing that I got hung up on there was trying to keep my eye on the DZ. They have a grass runway so it looks just like every other field in view, so that was a little disorienting. There are several landmarks that help out quite a bit, but my first couple jumps had me chuckling at the concept of picking an out because I had no idea where I was...but I had it zeroed in by the end of the day and was having a blast...thanks guys...see ya again soon...
(Review ID:4181)
> >|

Write your own Review