Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Start Skydiving - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.96/5
Total Reviews: 1001

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 27 Times: 970
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 2 27 970
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Great time!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: jordanbernsdorf on 2010-05-15

Pros: Awesome experience. Very smooth
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Such a great time. Very smooth day. No problems. Cannot wait to try it again!
(Review ID:5706)


Start Skydiving is the perfect place to learn how to fly.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: WickedSunday on 2010-05-13

Pros: Experienced and enthusiastic instructors,well-organized and involved training methods and top quality equipment and faci
Cons: I live an hour away.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
They say that in life, there is always that one moment that can change everything. For me, the one moment that changed my life was Skydiving.

The first thing I would like to say is thank you. Thank you, for the incredible experience you gave me. My skydiving experience truly impacted my life in such positive way it touched my heart in a way I cannot explain. The staff is very friendly, patient, caring and encouraging. When I got home it was one of the first things I shared with my family.

One of my most memorable moments was when I changed mind and decided not to go through with my jump. I was sitting in the video room feeling defeated. Travis Donley came in and said “you want to do this, you know what to do so do it”. I talked to him about my fears and he helped me to overcome my doubt. His confidence in me gave me the courage to try again. I can tell you right now that I will never forget his words. Niklas Hemlin, made me feel accepted. He said “There’s a lot of people here who care about you and want to see you overcome your fear, we are confident that you have the knowledge and capability to do this”. I will never forget that feeling.

Start Skydiving does more than open doors to a new adventure for an individual...it rebuilds the person. It rebuilds the person into someone who is strong and believes in him or herself. Start Skydiving teaches all of it's students that taking risks in life is necessary to grow. It teaches each and every student that anything is possible and most importantly have faith in yourself. There is no better place to learn this unteachable lesson. This experience taught me that I should never give up and of course "BE CONFIDENT IN ME“. I am thirty three years old and for the first time in my life I know that I can overcome any obstacle.

The Start Skydiving Team are more than instructors, divers and Riggers. They are amazing people that literally encourage others to reach for the sky and never give up. Thank you David Strobel, Mathew Strobel, and Jonathan for giving me the skills to accomplish a successful cat-A skydive. Thank you Scott Stilwell for encouraging me and for the four leaf clover, thank you Brad Hunt for the amazing video and pictures. Thank you, all of you at Start Skydiving.

Start Skydiving opened my eyes to an entirely different world and gave me the strength and courage to live out my dreams. I learned so many new things and met some awesome people! I had a great time at Start Skydiving and am planning to go again!


Sincerely,

Charity Hollin






(Review ID:5699)


This is the place


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Fruitfly on 2010-03-12

Pros: Professional, welcoming
Cons: I have to wait to go back

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Hi All~
I am new to skydiving--haven't even made first jump yet. Decided I wanted to do my AFF at Start, after thinking about it for a mere 20 years. [blush]
I wanted to spend an hour at Start before officially getting this underway and ended up having an instructor, David Strobel, work with me one:one. He spent over an hour showing me the equipment and explaining how it worked, demonstrating what to do in various scenarios in the sky, going over the training and what it entailed, and sharing his own experiences with skydiving. He was very generous with his time and with information, very professional and welcoming. As it turns out, I have an old shoulder injury that I would need to address before starting AFF, which came to light when we saw that I couldn't get my shoulders to align in the correct body position. Thanks to David, I didn't have to wait until I was in the course to find this out.
He was even nice enough to, literally, "talk me in " to the location when I got really lost on my way there. Now that's customer service! I had the pleasure of also meeting Travis, their pilot, and Gene, the dz manager--both very nice and welcoming guys. I look forward to my return to Start

(Review ID:5615)


Awesome DZ


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: fireflyer1988 on 2010-02-14

Pros: Professional and knowlegable staff
Cons: Cold and cloudy Ohio winters

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I went through my AFF course with Start, and I had some awesome instructors that were clearly passionate about skydiving. They led me through the ups and downs of the learning process, completely explaining questions as well as thouroly briefing and debriefing before and after jumps. After I got my license, I had no problem finding someone to jump with. In all an awesome dropzone, regardless of experience.
(Review ID:5581)


Top shelf DZ


Start Skydiving Rated 4 by: sky58 on 2009-09-10

Pros: DZO , aircraft ,staff,deep experience pool
Cons: winter weather

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Keep your eye on this one. What they've grown to in just three years can only make you wonder where they will be in three more. Great Boogie. Been to many and this one could possibly become the standard.
(Review ID:5371)


Happy to call my home DZ


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Pwlk on 2009-08-25

Pros: The people, location, planes, setup
Cons: Can be a bit busy at times

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is actually the only DZ I have ever been to and can't imagine anywhere else being more friendly and up-to-date. The manifest system is fantastic, scan your card to get on a load. The gear rental is affordable and quality. The packers are quick and pack well.

When it is time to go home, I definitely leave a happy customer.

(Review ID:5337)


Great vibes/aircraft/gear


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: JCulver on 2009-08-11

Pros: Great Facilities/gear/staff
Cons: None so far...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I had been trying to meet up with an old friend for some time. Due to work conflicts, we were unable to get together on the weekend to jump at my home DZ. Start was the only place open on a Monday afternoon in the Ohio area. So, we made the trip down from CMH.

Upon arrival, we quickly found that it was one of cleanest dropzone we've ever been to. Staff members pointed us to the waivers and manifest. We got signed up and manifested for the next load. I don't own gear, so I had to rent. I thought the rental prices were fair at just $10/jump. The gear was all brand new. A staff member asked what size canopy I wanted and quickly brought me all the gear I would need.

I have heard that this place was kind of cliquie. I didn't see that at all. Everyone we ran into took a minute to introduce themselves, talk skydiving and just BS.

We were given a walk around of the dz, including landing zones, patterns, aircraft policies etc.

The aircraft was the Fastrax Caravan. It was very clean with a nice big door. (I guess everything is big coming from a cessna DZ). It climbs like a bat out of hell too. We were only able to get 1 jump at 10.5k due to approaching weather. But, we will be heading back next week.

(Review ID:5314)


Great place for beginners to start in AFF


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: simsmky on 2009-06-22

Pros: Great instructers, sod farm makes for a cushy landing
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My first skydive couldn't have been better. The Advanced Free Fall (AFF) course was much preferred to a tandem. I was duly and truly prepared before stepping onto and off of the aircraft. I will be going back soon.
(Review ID:5198)


One of the best DZ's I have been too.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Seebs112 on 2009-04-06

Pros: Nice Aircraft, Nice People, Nice Area
Cons: 3 Hour Drive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This place was amazing. I am in Ohio on a 4 month assignment and have been jumping at a DZ much closer to my house. They weren't open on Saturday so I decided to make the 3 hour drive down to start. I am extremely glad I did.
I walked in with 14 jumps and needed to do some coach jumps to get things checked off on my A card. After filling out my forms they had someone orient me with the DZ and the landing area. About 5 minutes later they had me matched up with a coach. Even though my coach also had to do some camera stuff that day we got three jumps in. Everyone there was extremely nice and many people just introduced themselves.
The gear is all less than 3 years old and student gear is Vector 3's with skyhoooks. I had never packed my own canopy so my coach helped me out and I made 2 jumps on my own packs. The plane was in amazing shape and extremely nice. The building was very clean and the whole environment was very professional.
Overall, this was one of the best days skydiving I ever had, it was unquestionably worth the drive and I would recommend this place to anyone remotely near the area.

(Review ID:5049)


The best drop zone in the midwest


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: draiger on 2009-04-01

Pros: Huge landing area,
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started jumping there last summer, when my old DZ lost its plane. I now drive right by my old DZ and drive an extra hour to jump at Start. The Landing area is a sod Farm! It's huge! The packing area is padded and super clean and the people are outstanding. Whatever you’re into, they have people there to jump with you. Thumbs up!


(Review ID:5045)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review