Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Start Skydiving - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.96/5
Total Reviews: 943

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 26 Times: 913
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 2 26 913
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Home of the Ohio State University AFF course for university credit


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: coldsteel on 2008-05-06

Pros: Superb AFF instruction, constant attention to safety, friendly staff
Cons: Really can't identify a significant con

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
John Hart directs an extraordinarily well run DZ with a truly outstanding AFF program for OSU and other college students. Kip's AFF ground school instruction at the OSU campus was interesting, educational, and entertaining. On jump day I was impressed with the attention to safety exhibited by the staff, the high quality equipment & turbine aircraft, and the superb instruction/coaching abilities of the freefall instructors. After my son's successful freefall, I was so pleased with the Start Sky Diving operation that I decided to enrol my Miami U. freshman daughter in one of Kip's AFF courses....and I plan to jump with both of them too!
(Review ID:4498)


Great Atmosphere, awesome people to play with...


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Icon134 on 2008-04-10

Pros: Huge student landing area
Cons: Main landing area isn't located close to the hangar

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started jumping at this dropzone almost a year ago when I was asked to help out with an Ohio State University skydiving class. I was immediately impressed with the professionalism of the staff and owner as well as the opportunity to learn.

They have a spotless and well taken care of Cessna 208 Caravan with XM radio. They have a bunk house with 6 beds and have a site near the dz with an RV park, pleanty of camping and showers.

The main landing area is a huge field of beautiful sod and although it is at the opposite end of the runway they have a nice pickup truck waiting with a tailgate step, seats and speakers (so you can listen to music on the drive back).

Overall a great dz to visit or call home.

(Review ID:4450)


Jump somewhere else!


Start Skydiving Rated 1 by: jumplaw on 2008-03-14

Pros: Location
Cons: Poor service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Services
  Location
This DZ, while it may have good people, will scam you out of your money. Be careful, or better yet, jump somewhere else! They will tell you one thing about how they operate their jump accounts then do something different without your consent.

I bought 10 tickets. No big deal. Later I learned they decided that I had bought "special" discount tickets (which I didn't ask for). The "special tickets" essentially expired and they kept my money.

If you must jump here don't put money on an account. Only buy one jump at a time or you'll regret it. Better yet, go somewhere else.

(Review ID:4399)


Great DZ !!!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: cowsuit on 2007-10-08

Pros: Professional, Busy, Great vibe, bigass landing area
Cons: Goes to 12.5k most of the time

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very good RW flying there. Could use some more FF. New Caravan with dash 28 engine.
BIGASS landing area, nice swooping area also. Great view. Awesome vibe.
And something many DZs lack - GOOD MANAGEMENT !!!

(Review ID:4178)


Well Rounded DZ


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: peregrinerose on 2007-09-05

Pros: Jump planes, facilities, fun jumpers, scenery
Cons: Very focused on competition mindset

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My husband and I spent 2 days jumping at Start Skydiving over Labor day. When we first arrived, people were introducing themselves as soon as we walked up to manifest and inviting us to jump with them. The intro to the DZ was a little sketchy, we had to ask to be shown a picture of the main landing area (which isn't visible from the current main hangar), but they did make time to answer our questions.

We both watched how instructors were interacting with students, and it was a very universally professional atmosphere for both AFF and tandem operations as far as we saw over the weekend.

There was a helicopter pilot who gives lessons at the airport and is accessable, from what we could tell, pretty much full time for helicopter jumps. He was a delightful person and made the chopper jump we did that much more fun.

Our second jump there was an 18 way to set a new DZ record.... these people had never met us, but still invited us on the load. They even flew in an otter from Xenia since there were so many people interested in an RW bigway that afternoon.

The only drawback, as far as we saw was that the 'fun' jumpers there are very focused on 4 way and competition type mindset. Lots of complaining when 'fun' jumps didn't go 100% perfectly (even 12 points on a 4 way and a 5 pt 8 way wasn't good enough for them) there was a lot of complaining about it. That took a little of the fun out of it, though we did both learn a lot from the other jumpers... we are both more fond of no stress skydives.

Greg, the master rigger, is one of the most interesting people and incredible riggers we know, so we can't say enough great things about him.

We stayed in the camping area... there's plenty of room there. The showers were clean. There's only one porta john there which might be a problem on a really busy weekend, but wasn't an issue when we were there.

Overall, we had a great time, learned a lot, enjoyed all the new people that we met, and will definitely be back!!!!!! I only wish it was closer to home than an 8 hour drive... :-)

(Review ID:4115)


A great midwest DZ that is off to a great start


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: hovanects on 2007-08-24

Pros: Great Staff, ALWAYS jumping, close to Columbus, Dayton, and Cincinatti
Cons: None...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This is a dz that feels like it has been in business for years, although it only opened this season. World class coaching from Team Fastrax and even better people. The plane is ALWAYS flying on the weekdays and usually back to back on the weekends.
(Review ID:4104)


Friendly, excellent facility, fun skydives!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Miami on 2007-08-20

Pros: This is how all dropzones should be!
Cons: I had to leave...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Was passing through Ohio with work and only got to spend one day at Start Skydiving, now I wish I could stay longer! Very professional dropzone and great people...I look forward to visiting again!
(Review ID:4096)


A big skydiving operation with the feel of a small DZ


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: davidclark on 2007-08-03

Pros: HUGE landing area, all new equipment, knowledgeable staff
Cons: You can only get food from vending machines

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I'm impressed on how such a young DZ has bread a team that works so well. Up jumpers and staff were always trying their best to help, teach and make my stay as enjoyable as possible.

They began operations just a few months ago, but they have managed to get a healthy group of regulars. If for some reason you find yourself going for a solo jump, think again, as soon as your name is on the manifest you are sure to have someone to jump with. If you are there, you are part of the family.

I went there to get my coach rating. I expected to go through the IRM and do my evaluations and stop at that. When the course was over, I had been taught much more than just the necessary and felt absolutely confident I had all the skills and knowledge required. Their goal is to make you the best and not just getting certified.

My only CON is the lack of a place to get food right there, but Lebanon is just a short drive away.

This “small” DZ is rapidly becoming “the” place.

(Review ID:4053)


Great place to skydive


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: jumppilot01 on 2007-07-20

Pros: Friendly staff, great equipment
Cons: Not closer to my home!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As soon as I showed up, the staff made me feel at home. The facilities are nice and the place is constantly growing.

Team Fastrax is located there and they are very helpful with questions, even offering to make a jump or two with someone who is learning new skills.

I recommend this place to anyone and will definately be back.

(Review ID:4014)


The way a new dz should be operated.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Skymonkey2 on 2007-07-08

Pros: Great instructional staff, great up jumper crowd, great location
Cons: Needs shower house, and Tiki Bar.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
The up jumpers greet new jumpers and students, the staff is friendly and willing to jump with all levels of jumpers. Nice RV park, and landing area. Great place to jump and learn.
(Review ID:3987)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review