Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Start Skydiving - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.96/5
Total Reviews: 943

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 26 Times: 913
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 2 26 913
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



One of the best DZ's I have been too.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Seebs112 on 2009-04-06

Pros: Nice Aircraft, Nice People, Nice Area
Cons: 3 Hour Drive

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This place was amazing. I am in Ohio on a 4 month assignment and have been jumping at a DZ much closer to my house. They weren't open on Saturday so I decided to make the 3 hour drive down to start. I am extremely glad I did.
I walked in with 14 jumps and needed to do some coach jumps to get things checked off on my A card. After filling out my forms they had someone orient me with the DZ and the landing area. About 5 minutes later they had me matched up with a coach. Even though my coach also had to do some camera stuff that day we got three jumps in. Everyone there was extremely nice and many people just introduced themselves.
The gear is all less than 3 years old and student gear is Vector 3's with skyhoooks. I had never packed my own canopy so my coach helped me out and I made 2 jumps on my own packs. The plane was in amazing shape and extremely nice. The building was very clean and the whole environment was very professional.
Overall, this was one of the best days skydiving I ever had, it was unquestionably worth the drive and I would recommend this place to anyone remotely near the area.

(Review ID:5049)


The best drop zone in the midwest


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: draiger on 2009-04-01

Pros: Huge landing area,
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started jumping there last summer, when my old DZ lost its plane. I now drive right by my old DZ and drive an extra hour to jump at Start. The Landing area is a sod Farm! It's huge! The packing area is padded and super clean and the people are outstanding. Whatever you’re into, they have people there to jump with you. Thumbs up!


(Review ID:5045)


This DZ is destined to be an Oasis of Skydiving!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: matthewcline on 2009-01-05

Pros: Aircraft, Equipment, Staff, Facilities, Teams, Owner, Airport
Cons: I have to drive a bit to get there, but I still do!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I will simply say this, I drive 4 and 1/4 hours to get there several times a month. I pass several other DZ's to do so. I think Startskydiving.com rivals Eloy and Chicago (or soon will) in what they have to offer and seems to be expanding weekly!
(Review ID:4930)


THE BEST PLACE TO JUMP in the MidEast US!!!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Thumpy on 2008-12-15

Pros: Too many to list!
Cons: The sun still sets...

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Start Skydiving is definitely a top-notch business. With its pristine facilities, well-kept, new equipment, world-class staff, and amazing atmosphere, you will be hard pressed to find a better location to enjoy a skydive with your friends, old and new. Everyone is so friendly and professional.

It is a dropzone for all disciplines of all skill levels. There is always someone there looking to jump with you, whatever your discipline may be. Whether it be 4-way with members of Team Fastrax 4-way, or freeflying with our ever-growing number of excellent freefliers, or swooping with Team Fastrax Swoop! members, or CReW with Team Fastrax Demo members, you will always have the ability to learn something new and have an awesome time doing it.

Whether you have yet to get in a plane, or have 10,000 jumps, Start Skydiving is the place for you. The AFF and Tandem Staff is incredible. Staff as a whole is amazingly professional. They are top-of-the-line and always wanting to make your visit a fun, exciting, and memorable one, always offering help, advice, encouragement, warnings, and compassion.

If you are looking to get into the sport, or if you are looking to check out a new DZ with an amazing vibe, or if you are just wanting to hone in on your skill sets or create new ones, START SKYDIVING is the place for you!

Start Skydiving is in the process of completing some of its facility improvements. You should definitely check out this DZ in '09. You will be impressed.

Visit STARTSKYDIVING.COM and START SKYDIVING!!!

(Review ID:4919)


Wow, all I can say is WOW!!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Moonchild on 2008-09-24

Pros: Friendly staff, professional, clean equipment
Cons: I have to wait my turn to jump!!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I would have never thought I would like skydiving this much. My brother came across this place when he learned of my desire to skydive. He looked at many. So did I. I cannot say enough about this place. I have made two tandem jumps thus far, my third will be this weekend and some of my family are going to jump this weekend as well. I don't recommend things if I don't feel very strongly in a positive manner about them. They are wonderful. Go there. You will find out. I want to take AFF classes and won't go anywhere but there. God willing, I will.
(Review ID:4795)


Very professional and clean drop zone in Southern Ohio for any style or level of jumper!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: donabney on 2008-08-08

Pros: Good people, Always Something Going On, Professional
Cons: Ohio :-)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Start Skydiving is a great place to jump. The equipment and facilities are clean and modern. They consistently get wheels up early in the morning and there is always a great crew of jumpers around with whom to put jumps together. Everyone is friendly including the jumpers with very high numbers. From the DZO down to the first time students everyone goes out of their way to be friendly and positive.

I would love to see this DZ grow large enough to add some amenities such as places on site to eat and drink.

(Review ID:4698)


Great DZ, friendly and professional staff.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: grick on 2008-07-01

Pros: Coaching, People, Planes, Facilities
Cons: Ohio Winters

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Facilities:
Although the DZ shares a public airport, the facilities are great and the airport facility is very welcoming to the skydivers. The place has a “campus like” layout, with the main hanger, FBO, Rigging Loft, Bunk Rooms, second packing hanger, PRO landing area, and lounge all less than 30 yards from each other. The entire facility is extremely clean and the owner takes great pride in keeping it that way.

All of their equipment is brand new with pristine Vector/PD student gear. The main hanger is always playing upbeat XM radio and boasts flat screens around every corner for debriefing, manifest, and playing video. They have free wireless and two Internet kiosks, in case you didn’t bring your laptop. The main landing area is a little ways away at the other end of the airport, but the 150 acres, dedicated shuttle, and lack of air traffic makes it well worth the short 2 minute ride.

Aircraft:
Start has two dedicated Caravans that are very well kept, comfortable, and always clean. Almost every weekend they offer helicopter jumps and there is the occasional opportunity to hitch a ride on a balloon. They also bring in speciality aircraft for events on occasion. I have yet to land off the DZ and they don’t hesitate on taking up light loads to keep you in the air.

People:
The entire staff and regular jumpers are extremely friendly… even manifest! The owner, John Hart, is always in the air and will jump with anyone. The coaching opportunity is absolutely amazing for the Midwest, especially if you’re into 4-way, swooping, CREW, or getting into Demos. You would have to travel to Florida or the West Coast to get similar coaching. Great Vibes, Great People, Awesome Talent, Amazing DZ! I definitely recommend!!

(Review ID:4618)


Wonderful place to skydive


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: flattrack4 on 2008-06-26

Pros: professional, friendly, organized . . . the list goes on
Cons: can't think of one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Start Skydiving is just a great DZ. The very professional staff knows how to get their jobs done right, and have fun at the same time, giving both students and experienced jumpers a DZ experience they will remember and want to come back to time after time.

And never fear, RW is alive and well at Start. The National Skydiving League 4-way competitions have been re-invigorated by a combination of Team Fastrax members and experienced local RW jumpers. These people love RW and 4-way, and can't wait to help teams of any skill level improve their performance and have fun.

Need 4-way coaching? Just ask and you'll get it. DZO John Hart and Team Fastrax members are available and ready and willing to help. Whether its figuring out your next 4-way exit, planning your next tunnel camp, or on-going coaching for experienced 4-way competitors who want to learn the latest and greatest 4-way techniques, Start Skydiving accommodates all your 4-way team needs.

(Review ID:4606)


This is the place for 4 way coaching.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: shellyalbers01 on 2008-06-24

Pros: Too many to mention.
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My name is Michelle, and I've been jumping for 12 years - mostly in the mid-western US. I've been jumping at Start Skydiving in Lebanon, OH this year, and I'd like to share a few things I've noticed. This is not your typical drop zone. You've got to see this place to believe it. I think the high level of professionalism, coaching, all new gear, excellent facilities, and positive atmosphere are unmatched for experienced jumpers and students.

4 way: Start Skydiving is the home DZ of John Hart and Niklas Hemlin (2nd place 4 way open 2007, and 2nd place 4 way open in 2006). I've done two 4 way camps with John and Niklas this year at Start, and my opinion is that they are excellent coaches - able to help teams and individuals dramatically increase their performance in a fast and effective manner that is truly an enjoyable and memorable experience. It is easy to see that 4 way coaching isn't just a "job" with John and Niklas. It's their passion. John and Niklas are really passionate about helping skydivers grow within our sport. I also have to add that they are really nice guys.

John and Niklas have so much to offer to 4 way t teams at any level. I recommend that you check out the website, and give them a call. I think you'll be glad that you did. Website: www.startskydiving.com.
Ph: 513-934-3483

Blue skies, and safe landings,
Michelle Albers

(Review ID:4601)


very friendly and knowledgeable staff, no skygods


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Croc on 2008-06-16

Pros: Staff, facilities, coaching, ginormous landing area
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A friend and I travelled from Indianapolis to attend a Crew camp that we discovered was re-scheduled for July. My hotel room was paid in advance and non-refundable and the weather looked good so we went anyway, expecting to just spend a couple of days doing Crew by ourselves. Nothing of the sort happened. John Hart, the DZO, and Travis, one of his instructors, spent the entire day jumping with us, giving us private Crew lessons, essentially for free! My friend, an experienced Crew Dog, learned some new tricks, and I, a pup, got 14 docks in four jumps! Awesome!
I've heard many good things about Start Skydiving, and many reasons why it is such a great place. I think it's outstanding because of John Hart.
We'll be back! If you live within a day's drive of Cincinnati you gotta check out this DZ!

(Review ID:4586)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review