Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Start Skydiving - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.96/5
Total Reviews: 1001

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 27 Times: 970
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 2 27 970
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Our all female mountain climbing team jumped from the height of the mountain we are about to climb.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Blacksheep44 on 2017-08-27

Pros: Safety, Experienced jumpers, clean facilities, good plane, video options, fun atmosphere
Cons: None.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
We've watched Team Fastrax jump with a 2,000 square foot American flag in to a city like atmosphere and land on a postage stamp - and we've witnessed it like 5 times this summer. So when the opportunity to do a team jump became possible, who else would I ever consider diving with other than the best team in the world? How about the world record holders of jumping the largest flag under a single canopy, I mean I should consider all my options, right? Oh, well, those teams happen to be the SAME team - Team Fastrax! Start Skydiving and Team Fastrax are associated and jump out of the same facility, conveniently located at Hook Field in Middletown, Ohio. Easy to find, easy to park. Super professional staff, clean facility and all new, high end gear and planes. The level of processes and safety at Start was unmatched (I have jumped prior). I felt safe at all time - and I felt like my guy (Lonnie) "had my back" no matter what. He was super cool under pressure - not that we had any, but I asked good questions - and he was the perfect mix of fun and no bones about it instruction on what to do and what not to do! I was NOT looking forward to those jump outfits - I'm not a big fan of sharing pillows or clothes, etc. with strangers, but I admit, even I was pleased. The jump suits were in good shape and were clean and fresh. Next came the video. My goodness my video person was amazing! There is a lot of good atmosphere and music pumping while we're all getting ready and now there is this nice woman talking to me and asking about the dive and grabbing the entire journey with my team on video!! How cool! After we were all suited up and pumped up, we went to the step and repeat - yes, this place is so classy it has a step and repeat for photos! More photos, ample opportunity for family to watch and be a part of the preparation process - and then it was off to the plane!! The family viewing area is RIGHT THERE where we land, so that's really awesome. There are a few places to sit - but really, no one did, because let's get real, their kids and wives and neice's were about to jump out of a plane from 13,775 above the ground. So the plane is a skydive plane. There is no potty and no cocktail service. It's loud and the seats are a bench that you straddle. If you're expecting First Class from Delta - buy a different ticket, but if you want a plane ride that you actually enjoy and will remember for the rest of your life, go potty before you get in the plane, pad your rump and plan on a beer at the bar down the street after the jump! The ride up includes group and personalized instruction - some of which is repetitive, but if you're like me, you'll appreciate the repetition so you're sure you heard what you think you heard about what you're supposed to do once you've jumped out of a plane with a person on your back and you're going 120 mph toward the ground....not a lot of time to think, so understanding your role is important - they could have told me 10 times and I would have been ok with it. The team of experienced jumpers made us feel relaxed and secure - we joked, but were serious at the same time. It was the perfect mix. As much information was shared as questions we asked - these people know what they are doing and clearly love what they do! And now we're at the drop zone and they open the door - wow it's chilly and s$#! is getting real now....we scoot to the edge and......hey, if you want to know what the next part feel like - sign up and jump!!!! Lonnie was AWESOME! We landed like I was carrying a fragile case of eggs and the exileration and jump met ALL of my expectations. Considering my exceptional level of high maintenance, this is a feat of epic proportions for Amy company to attain, and yet, Start Skydiving did it. After the dive, we celebrated as a team, the video caught our landing, our celebration and even some tears of joy for our own personal reasons :-). I can't thank this team and this company enough for what they offer. It's no wonder they are considered the best - because they are!!! Thank you David Hart, Sam Deeds, Larry and Cheryl Compton, Lonnie, our video crew, pilot, ground crew and staff - everyone gets multiple gold stars for this effort!! Bravo!
(Review ID:9376)


Awsome jump


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: MelissaA on 2017-08-27

Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Awesome experience!!
(Review ID:9375)


Great for Fun Jumpers


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: skyfox2007 on 2017-08-26

Pros: Professionalism, Organization, Communication
Cons: Rental Gear

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As a fun jumper, I must say that this DZ is the best in the area...hands down. The staff working there were the most professional I've seen in 10 years of jumping. The manifesting process is smooth and the DZ will create accounts that allow jumpers to transfer funds and debit the cost of each jump from the amount they credit. Communication about loads and weather is displayed on monitors throughout the DZ with estimated call times posted for each load. The packing area is quite large and sufficient enough to accommodate at least a dozen jumpers at a time. I was most impressed with the how they segregated the tandem and fun jumper/student loads. The fun jumper loads went higher (13.5K vs 10.5K) and a plane full of fun jumpers allows for larger formations and maneuvers. The turnaround times for fun jumper loads are quick, but more than sufficient to pack your chute, use the lou, and even grab a bite between jumps. The fun jumper crowd here is big and accommodating towards newbies. Very nice!

The only thing in this entire operation that I saw and didn't like was the rental/student gear. My rig is with a rigger for inspections and so I got to use their rental equipment. The chutes were relatively new, but the packers are required to pack them such that they open quickly (i.e. "spank") you. When I approached the packer about this he said that they were required to pack the chutes this way to prevent students from thinking they were experiencing streamer malfunctions. He refused to deviate from the DZ policy and roll the nose on my canopy - even though I wasn't a student - and so I experienced two - very hard - openings that were less than 2.5 seconds each...OUCH. I'd recommend you borrow equipment from a friend and stay away from the rental gear.

The tandem operation was also smooth and the instructors appeared professional, safe, and energetic. A great place to complete a tandem if you're looking to experience your first jump.

An outstanding DZ for both tandem and fun jumpers alike and I would recommend this DZ to anyone in the Cincinnati/Dayton, Oh. area. I'll definitely be returning to this place.


(Review ID:9374)


Hell of an experience !!!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: TheAkadianer on 2017-08-26

Pros: All
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was thinking for about 20 years to do a tandem jump. Well, wasted actually 20 years with not doing it. It was awesome, breathtaking, I mean just think about all possible adjectives going in that direction. Do it!!!
I don't have any comparisons but at this base everything was I could have asked for.
A very special thank you to my T.I.: Larry Compton, you're THE MAN!
Such a cool dude without being snobby to new newbie I am. Explained everything and was polite all the time. My wife, with fear of heights now thinks about doing as well.
Quoting Larry: "Luckily with skydiving you just skip heights and go directly to altitude." No further comment necessary...

(Review ID:9373)


Highly Recommend!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: rbmeredith03 on 2017-08-25

Pros: Amazing staff, great equipment
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As my first time skydiving I had all of the normal emotions- excited/anxious/nervous/didn't want to die. I had Larry has my T.I. and he was amazing! He made me feel totally comfortable the whole time and even let me steer the parachute myself. Every staff member I talked to was great. I thought skydiving would be a one and done experience for me but I will definitely be back.
(Review ID:9372)


Wow!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: dvaske on 2017-08-24

Pros: Professional and great coaching!
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
What a great day skydiving! Our 2nd visit to Start Skydiving and again, outstanding! Lonnie was my TI and Phil was my husband's. Everyone there makes sure you feel safe, know what to do and that it is an exceptional adventure! Highly recommend to anyone who has thought about trying skydiving. You won't be disappointed! We'll be back! Thank you Lonnie & Phil!
(Review ID:9371)


Lasting, memorable adventure.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: darcycook14 on 2017-08-23

Pros: Easy to find and friendly staff.
Cons: The wait was frustrating, but expected and they had corn hole to occupy your time.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
As a first time skydiver, I had no idea what to expect, but the whole process was very easy. Everything was explained nicely and I felt very comfortable the whole time. Dan P was my instructor and his nearly 40 years experience was obvious! My biggest fear was being too afraid to enjoy the experience, but Dan did a great job easing my anxiety and assuring me all was well. I was in a group of 4 and all of us had a memorable, amazing adventure and liked our instructors. We booked our second dive immediately!
(Review ID:9369)


PUT DOWN YOUR PHONE


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Peacock on 2017-08-20

Pros: Caring Friendly staff, Safety,
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Put down your phone and go, RIGHT NOW, and live life to the fullest. Afraid? Don't be. Look fear in the eye and take a step forward-right out the plane door. This business will make certain that you are comfortable-physically and mentally- to face your fears and see our beautiful planet in an entirely different way. Can't wait to go again. Phil and Brian were awesome tandem assistants . The videos & photo packages are so impressive. We can't quit looking at those photos. PRICELE$$ . Now, quit reading this review-get in the car and GO.
(Review ID:9364)


Start Skydiving- truly an experience of a lifetime! :)


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: moorelindsey38 on 2017-08-20

Pros: Everything was amazing!
Cons: Absolutely nothing

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
This was my first time skydiving and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had! All of the staff were incredible, especially my tandem instructor Lonnie! He made me feel safe and comfortable the whole time and really helped to make it such a great experience. From check in, to suiting up, to getting on the plane, jumping, and arriving back safe and sound, EVERYTHING was absolutely amazing. Thank you Start Skydiving and Lonnie for one of the best times I'll ever have!!
(Review ID:9363)


Best experience ever hands down


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: kalikay on 2017-08-18

Pros: Super nice and make sure you have a good time
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Everyone was super friendly and cared. They made it enjoyable and gave you a lifetime experience you'll never forget!
(Review ID:9360)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review