Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Start Skydiving - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.96/5
Total Reviews: 1018

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 28 Times: 986
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 2 28 986
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Very professional and clean drop zone in Southern Ohio for any style or level of jumper!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: donabney on 2008-08-08

Pros: Good people, Always Something Going On, Professional
Cons: Ohio :-)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Start Skydiving is a great place to jump. The equipment and facilities are clean and modern. They consistently get wheels up early in the morning and there is always a great crew of jumpers around with whom to put jumps together. Everyone is friendly including the jumpers with very high numbers. From the DZO down to the first time students everyone goes out of their way to be friendly and positive.

I would love to see this DZ grow large enough to add some amenities such as places on site to eat and drink.

(Review ID:4698)


Great DZ, friendly and professional staff.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: grick on 2008-07-01

Pros: Coaching, People, Planes, Facilities
Cons: Ohio Winters

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Facilities:
Although the DZ shares a public airport, the facilities are great and the airport facility is very welcoming to the skydivers. The place has a “campus like” layout, with the main hanger, FBO, Rigging Loft, Bunk Rooms, second packing hanger, PRO landing area, and lounge all less than 30 yards from each other. The entire facility is extremely clean and the owner takes great pride in keeping it that way.

All of their equipment is brand new with pristine Vector/PD student gear. The main hanger is always playing upbeat XM radio and boasts flat screens around every corner for debriefing, manifest, and playing video. They have free wireless and two Internet kiosks, in case you didn’t bring your laptop. The main landing area is a little ways away at the other end of the airport, but the 150 acres, dedicated shuttle, and lack of air traffic makes it well worth the short 2 minute ride.

Aircraft:
Start has two dedicated Caravans that are very well kept, comfortable, and always clean. Almost every weekend they offer helicopter jumps and there is the occasional opportunity to hitch a ride on a balloon. They also bring in speciality aircraft for events on occasion. I have yet to land off the DZ and they don’t hesitate on taking up light loads to keep you in the air.

People:
The entire staff and regular jumpers are extremely friendly… even manifest! The owner, John Hart, is always in the air and will jump with anyone. The coaching opportunity is absolutely amazing for the Midwest, especially if you’re into 4-way, swooping, CREW, or getting into Demos. You would have to travel to Florida or the West Coast to get similar coaching. Great Vibes, Great People, Awesome Talent, Amazing DZ! I definitely recommend!!

(Review ID:4618)


Wonderful place to skydive


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: flattrack4 on 2008-06-26

Pros: professional, friendly, organized . . . the list goes on
Cons: can't think of one

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Start Skydiving is just a great DZ. The very professional staff knows how to get their jobs done right, and have fun at the same time, giving both students and experienced jumpers a DZ experience they will remember and want to come back to time after time.

And never fear, RW is alive and well at Start. The National Skydiving League 4-way competitions have been re-invigorated by a combination of Team Fastrax members and experienced local RW jumpers. These people love RW and 4-way, and can't wait to help teams of any skill level improve their performance and have fun.

Need 4-way coaching? Just ask and you'll get it. DZO John Hart and Team Fastrax members are available and ready and willing to help. Whether its figuring out your next 4-way exit, planning your next tunnel camp, or on-going coaching for experienced 4-way competitors who want to learn the latest and greatest 4-way techniques, Start Skydiving accommodates all your 4-way team needs.

(Review ID:4606)


This is the place for 4 way coaching.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: shellyalbers01 on 2008-06-24

Pros: Too many to mention.
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My name is Michelle, and I've been jumping for 12 years - mostly in the mid-western US. I've been jumping at Start Skydiving in Lebanon, OH this year, and I'd like to share a few things I've noticed. This is not your typical drop zone. You've got to see this place to believe it. I think the high level of professionalism, coaching, all new gear, excellent facilities, and positive atmosphere are unmatched for experienced jumpers and students.

4 way: Start Skydiving is the home DZ of John Hart and Niklas Hemlin (2nd place 4 way open 2007, and 2nd place 4 way open in 2006). I've done two 4 way camps with John and Niklas this year at Start, and my opinion is that they are excellent coaches - able to help teams and individuals dramatically increase their performance in a fast and effective manner that is truly an enjoyable and memorable experience. It is easy to see that 4 way coaching isn't just a "job" with John and Niklas. It's their passion. John and Niklas are really passionate about helping skydivers grow within our sport. I also have to add that they are really nice guys.

John and Niklas have so much to offer to 4 way t teams at any level. I recommend that you check out the website, and give them a call. I think you'll be glad that you did. Website: www.startskydiving.com.
Ph: 513-934-3483

Blue skies, and safe landings,
Michelle Albers

(Review ID:4601)


very friendly and knowledgeable staff, no skygods


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Croc on 2008-06-16

Pros: Staff, facilities, coaching, ginormous landing area
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A friend and I travelled from Indianapolis to attend a Crew camp that we discovered was re-scheduled for July. My hotel room was paid in advance and non-refundable and the weather looked good so we went anyway, expecting to just spend a couple of days doing Crew by ourselves. Nothing of the sort happened. John Hart, the DZO, and Travis, one of his instructors, spent the entire day jumping with us, giving us private Crew lessons, essentially for free! My friend, an experienced Crew Dog, learned some new tricks, and I, a pup, got 14 docks in four jumps! Awesome!
I've heard many good things about Start Skydiving, and many reasons why it is such a great place. I think it's outstanding because of John Hart.
We'll be back! If you live within a day's drive of Cincinnati you gotta check out this DZ!

(Review ID:4586)


Home of the Ohio State University AFF course for university credit


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: coldsteel on 2008-05-06

Pros: Superb AFF instruction, constant attention to safety, friendly staff
Cons: Really can't identify a significant con

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
John Hart directs an extraordinarily well run DZ with a truly outstanding AFF program for OSU and other college students. Kip's AFF ground school instruction at the OSU campus was interesting, educational, and entertaining. On jump day I was impressed with the attention to safety exhibited by the staff, the high quality equipment & turbine aircraft, and the superb instruction/coaching abilities of the freefall instructors. After my son's successful freefall, I was so pleased with the Start Sky Diving operation that I decided to enrol my Miami U. freshman daughter in one of Kip's AFF courses....and I plan to jump with both of them too!
(Review ID:4498)


Great Atmosphere, awesome people to play with...


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Icon134 on 2008-04-10

Pros: Huge student landing area
Cons: Main landing area isn't located close to the hangar

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I started jumping at this dropzone almost a year ago when I was asked to help out with an Ohio State University skydiving class. I was immediately impressed with the professionalism of the staff and owner as well as the opportunity to learn.

They have a spotless and well taken care of Cessna 208 Caravan with XM radio. They have a bunk house with 6 beds and have a site near the dz with an RV park, pleanty of camping and showers.

The main landing area is a huge field of beautiful sod and although it is at the opposite end of the runway they have a nice pickup truck waiting with a tailgate step, seats and speakers (so you can listen to music on the drive back).

Overall a great dz to visit or call home.

(Review ID:4450)


Jump somewhere else!


Start Skydiving Rated 1 by: jumplaw on 2008-03-14

Pros: Location
Cons: Poor service

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Services
  Location
This DZ, while it may have good people, will scam you out of your money. Be careful, or better yet, jump somewhere else! They will tell you one thing about how they operate their jump accounts then do something different without your consent.

I bought 10 tickets. No big deal. Later I learned they decided that I had bought "special" discount tickets (which I didn't ask for). The "special tickets" essentially expired and they kept my money.

If you must jump here don't put money on an account. Only buy one jump at a time or you'll regret it. Better yet, go somewhere else.

(Review ID:4399)


Great DZ !!!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: cowsuit on 2007-10-08

Pros: Professional, Busy, Great vibe, bigass landing area
Cons: Goes to 12.5k most of the time

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very good RW flying there. Could use some more FF. New Caravan with dash 28 engine.
BIGASS landing area, nice swooping area also. Great view. Awesome vibe.
And something many DZs lack - GOOD MANAGEMENT !!!

(Review ID:4178)


Well Rounded DZ


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: peregrinerose on 2007-09-05

Pros: Jump planes, facilities, fun jumpers, scenery
Cons: Very focused on competition mindset

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My husband and I spent 2 days jumping at Start Skydiving over Labor day. When we first arrived, people were introducing themselves as soon as we walked up to manifest and inviting us to jump with them. The intro to the DZ was a little sketchy, we had to ask to be shown a picture of the main landing area (which isn't visible from the current main hangar), but they did make time to answer our questions.

We both watched how instructors were interacting with students, and it was a very universally professional atmosphere for both AFF and tandem operations as far as we saw over the weekend.

There was a helicopter pilot who gives lessons at the airport and is accessable, from what we could tell, pretty much full time for helicopter jumps. He was a delightful person and made the chopper jump we did that much more fun.

Our second jump there was an 18 way to set a new DZ record.... these people had never met us, but still invited us on the load. They even flew in an otter from Xenia since there were so many people interested in an RW bigway that afternoon.

The only drawback, as far as we saw was that the 'fun' jumpers there are very focused on 4 way and competition type mindset. Lots of complaining when 'fun' jumps didn't go 100% perfectly (even 12 points on a 4 way and a 5 pt 8 way wasn't good enough for them) there was a lot of complaining about it. That took a little of the fun out of it, though we did both learn a lot from the other jumpers... we are both more fond of no stress skydives.

Greg, the master rigger, is one of the most interesting people and incredible riggers we know, so we can't say enough great things about him.

We stayed in the camping area... there's plenty of room there. The showers were clean. There's only one porta john there which might be a problem on a really busy weekend, but wasn't an issue when we were there.

Overall, we had a great time, learned a lot, enjoyed all the new people that we met, and will definitely be back!!!!!! I only wish it was closer to home than an 8 hour drive... :-)

(Review ID:4115)
|< < > >|

Write your own Review