Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Start Skydiving - (Visit this link) popular
Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.96/5
Total Reviews: 930

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 1 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 26 Times: 900
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  1 1 2 26 900
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Extraordinary Experience


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: laurahrns on 2016-10-30

Pros: Professionalism and Friendliness
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Enjoyed my experience with Lonnie Kirk!
(Review ID:9191)


Great time and very professional


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: tstpeter on 2016-10-20

Pros: Motivated TI/Cameramen, Atmosphere
Cons: Distance from house

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Phil/Gila/Adam/and Rob were great. They took care of my son and I on our Father Son first jump. Thanks guys. It was awesome because you all made it so.
(Review ID:9187)


Five stars, loved it!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: Smith493 on 2016-10-08

Pros: Great price, friendly and passionate staff, fun atmosphere, large open area to hang out and suit up, could watch skydive
Cons: I guess it would be cool if there were more restrooms downstairs in the check-in area, but really I am just writing this

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Today was my first time skydiving, and although I have no basis for comparison, I know that it would be nearly impossible to beat the experience that I had at Start Skydiving in Middleton, OH. I was with a group of eight, traveling from Indianapolis, IN. We received a discounted price (IN resident special) of $129 each on a Saturday, which is $90 cheaper than the drop zone closest to Indy.

Now, I was initially a bit concerned about the idea of discount skydiving, and I thought, "maybe I should pay a premium price for something like this?" ...Especially after signing an extensive liability waiver to a business using equipment manufactured by a company called "Uninsured United Parachute Technologies, LLC." So if you are reading this and happen to have these same concerns, I just want you to know, you can stop worrying. Just go.

Shout out to Lonnie Kirk, the tandem instructor I was lucky enough to have the pleasure of jumping with--everyone I went with felt the same way about each of their instructors, but Lonnie was the best and I'll tell you why:
I got the video and picture package (I ended up upgrading to the rock star package because I knew it would be worth it after I finished... and I was right). Anyways, I have really long hair, that I French braided into pigtails to keep it from slapping me in the face. My plan worked out well, it was not an issue at all for me. However, I didn't realize (until I got back and saw my pics and video) that my hair was aggressively attacking my instructors face while I was having the time of my life and he continued to take pictures of me and pose with me for the photographer that jumped with us. I mean, that's pretty amazing. And I can't remember the photographer's name (maybe Matt?) but I am extremely impressed with the pictures and video and his ability to remain so close to us while we were free falling... I'm just in awe of the skill level and ease that both of them had; it made me feel incredibly secure and I never hesitated or doubted my safety because they were such professionals.
After the parachute opened, the trip to the ground was also pretty cool--Lonnie let me steer for a bit, and then he spun us around like a roller coaster. It's honestly the most peaceful and gratifying thing, to float around in the sky, but it's impossible to put into words how powerful it really is.

I was initially a little bit worried about the landing and how that works, because it's weird to think of the logistics of two people landing from the sky at the same time while they're connected to each other--but it was easy and natural. It was a pretty windy day, I believe 14 mph winds with gusts up to 17 mph, but I was there at the hangar area for about 4 hours, I saw numerous heats of skydivers, and none of the tandem landings were anything but incredibly graceful.

Anyways--My group and I have already planned to go back to Start Skydiving in the spring; and I'm excited to have found a new hobby. My goal next year will be to jump solo. Thank you, Start Skydiving, for the opportunity to experience skydiving for the first time in the hands of professionals, and thank you Lonnie (and photographer) for the making my first jump so memorable. I can't wait for next time!

(Review ID:9184)


I reccomend it!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: BNoel on 2016-10-05

Pros: Amazing and personable staff
Cons: I wasn't prepared for how cold it was up in the air

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I was super excited to finally go skydiving! I jumped with Lonnie and he was awesome! Everybody was super nice and friendly and made me feel as comfortable as possible knowing I was jumping out of a plane very soon! The video/photographer was amazing and tried to make me look as good as possible!
(Review ID:9180)


Start skydiving is the #1 place to jump for your first time!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: norrish on 2016-10-04

Pros: My guide
Cons: N/A

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Lonnie was so helpful, he made my jump super exciting & helped me with breathing exercises before hand. I never thought I would jump out of and airplane, and I am so pumped it was with a crew as exciting as the one I was with! Thanks staff!
(Review ID:9179)


Loved the experience


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: garyandmckenzie on 2016-09-25

Pros: Exceptionally friendly and professional team
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Took my daughter on a "father-daughter" sky diving experience. Their professional and friendly staff made the experience one of our best, ever! Everlasting memories, thanks to Mihilo (not sure if that is spelled correctly), Matt, Phillip, and Natasha! Thanks so much!
(Review ID:9169)


Lonnie Kirk made this experience amazing!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: HeatherMay on 2016-09-23

Pros: Great instructor! Beautiful day!
Cons: No complaints

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Today I was able to check off an item on my bucket list. Lonnie was wonderful and made this experience worth the trip, time and money!

Thank you for an amazing experience!!!
Heather!!!

(Review ID:9168)


Great staff, professional, experienced, SO MUCH FUN!


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: natamose on 2016-09-19

Pros: Super friendly staff and all very experienced. Coupons accepted
Cons: should have a quieter place to go over jump procedures

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Very professional, experienced team Loni was a great instructor, he was super experienced and great at his job, made me feel very safe, and an awesome, funny dude, made my jump tons of fun.
I would go back or recommend anytime!

(Review ID:9167)


Great experience to start skydiving


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: flying_bugra on 2016-09-11

Pros: Staff, landing zone
Cons: Not any

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I've started learning skydiving here. Great and friendly staff, good facility, a lot of planes. The landing area and dz is way big, which is very helpful for students. Instructors are true professionals. Despite I haven't ever jumped with some of the instructors, they also were trying to help me to improve my jumps. If the dz is crowded, the grill hut is open at the weekends.
(Review ID:9159)


I went for a cheap tandem jump and had a great time.


Start Skydiving Rated 5 by: TheUnrealDeal on 2016-09-08

Pros: Professional Staff, Charming Atmosphere, and Affordable.
Cons: It was a bit of a long drive for me, but that's not their fault

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
One of my bucket list items has always been to go skydiving despite being terrified of heights. I've had a lot of free time lately and began researching places to go skydiving in the Cincinnati area.

I saw that they were relatively close to me (About an hour's drive way) and offered a deal of 125 dollars for a tandem jump on Wednesdays (Which is a steal when you think about the expenses of running a plane and having someone go with you), so I quickly booked for an early morning slot.

On the day of the jump, I was really nervous about the whole ordeal, but I forced myself to go because I had already paid for it. I was able to quickly get through the waiver process and was guided towards the waiting area where I waited for a period before the other jumpers in my group showed up. There was some confusion about who I would be jumping with at first, but I was teamed up with a man by the name of Larry Compton as my tandem partner and woman named Natasha as the person who would be filming my jump.

After getting on my jump suit and the necessary harnesses, I was shepherded onto the plane alongside Larry and Natasha. While sitting in the plane, Larry calmly and simply explained what the jumping process would be like. The plane slowly got started and went up into the air. Honestly, this was the most nerve-racking part of the whole ordeal as the anticipation set in. Once we were ready to jump, I briefly considered chickening out and not jumping, but manned up and walked to the open door with Larry and jumped out with him. For a split second, I was convinced I was going to die before the absolute thrill of free-falling took hold.

For a solid minute, I felt the wind in my face and the sheer terror and excitement of plummeting towards the Earth at a high speed. I hammed it up for the camera that Natasha had in front of me before Larry deployed the parachute and we gently started floating down towards the ground. It was at this moment that the quiet and serene beauty of being by yourself and seeing the Earth from a distance set in. It had a calming effect on me and seemed like a perfect way to do some thinking. Larry even allowed me guide the parachute for a bit before taking over as we got close to the ground.

As we got near the landing zone, Larry explained to raise my legs and prepare to slide onto the grass for a gentle landing. I did just that and smoothly reached the Earth, happy to be alive. I quickly got my harnesses off and felt a little woozy, but was feeling accomplished and had gotten such a rush from the experience. I shook Larry's hand and waited for about 20 minutes for the video and photos of my experience to be given to me before heading off to go on with the rest of my day. I felt a bit dizzy after the jump, but that went away after an hour and wasn't so bad that I felt I needed to lay down or something.

All in all, my experience with StartSkydiving was everything it needed to be. It was affordable and top-of-the-line in every regard. I couldn't have asked to be paired with a better tandem partner than Larry Compton as he was experienced, calming, and professional. I'm not sure if I'll ever go skydiving again, but I can say that my first time doing it was a total blast and I thank the fine folks of StartSkydiving for that.

(Review ID:9157)
> >|

Write your own Review