Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Tradewind Sky Sports - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 4.88/5 Average Rating : 4.88/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide



Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 4.88/5
Total Reviews: 8

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 7
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  0 0 0 1 7
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Awesome place definitley recomended!


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: rushchaser on 2012-09-27

Pros: Very friendly and welcoming, no matter your experience level
Cons: None

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I am a newbie skydiver with 37 jumps, they were very welcoming. No sky gods and the instructors are very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. They will stop what they are doing to help or answer any questions. They have a 2 story building and the upstairs is a carpeted packing area, and actually where about 10 of us slept on Saturday night. I felt like I had always jumped there. They have 2 C-182s and are about to upgrade one of them to a 300hp engine so rides to altitude will be about 14 minutes. Plus tickets here are only $20 so that is also a plus as well. I definitely recommend this Dropzone to anyone with any experience level.
(Review ID:7639)


Friendly dropzone, awesome people, and great vibe


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: pcramil on 2011-10-16

Pros: Everything but
Cons: The aircraft

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
My last jump was ~#83 around January 2010. I got USPA membership expedited on Thursday night and went there Saturday and Sunday with a few first time jumpers interested in AFF. I got back up to speed and all of us are planning on returning next weekend. The staff there are extremely friendly, and the vibe is just amazing. My only downside is that I wish they had something bigger than a C-182 since I'm used to a Caravan zipping up a bunch up to altitude fast, but that's only a 4/5 for the aircraft. Being from Hawaii, I'm going to miss this dropzone when I have to leave, but I'll be back there again, even if just for the dropzone.
(Review ID:6857)


Finished my A-license here


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 4 by: dclabounty on 2011-08-26

Pros: Great staff, safety oriented, nice DZ
Cons: C182 :)

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I showed up to the DZ with 21 jumps (4 short of my A-license). Everyone there was friendly and welcoming. Great instructor staff that emphasized safety and fun. Everyone at the DZ was more than willing to help out a new jumper. Was able to complete my A-license here thanks to the professionalism and expertise of the instructor staff.
(Review ID:6709)


A great Cessna DZ with superb people and facilities


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: hajnalka on 2010-04-02

Pros: PEOPLE, landing area, views, safety, culture and vibe
Cons: It's too far from me! Cessnas only

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I visited Tradewinds a few weekends ago as a 'visiting rigger.' I was happily surprised and impressed by this place!

Facilities are very clean, well-maintained and comfortable. They have a good-sized 2nd floor carpeted packing/rigging/experienced jumper area with a 2nd story deck overlooking the loading and landing areas - very cool. They have great communication and manifest, the pilot rocked, and landing area is HUGE and wide open. Obvious emphasis here is safety and fun. The local jumpers are awesome - friendly and inclusive, and I can't imagine anyone walking in here and feeling like a stranger for long. This is a 'no politics' kind of place.

Aspiring rigger Ben is smart, knowledgeable and ethical: He impressed me greatly and I hope he gets his ticket soon. He's very quick with gear advice.

Overall I found this a friendly, fun, safety-conscious place. In addition the area is beautiful, and it's only a few miles from the town of Washington NC with anything you could want.

Both first-timers and experienced jumpers will be well served at this DZ. I'm proud of John for helping make this place what it is.

Since it is a small Cessna operation, do call ahead unless they have an event going on.

(Review ID:5636)


Outstanding Drop Zone and people


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: casualcat74 on 2008-11-03

Pros: People, Instructor
Cons: Aircraft

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Wonderful Experience! Great instructor and manager, Robo and John....

Good and friendly people around, Giving everyone, experienced and not so, encouragement.

Great place to be and a great place to call home!

(Review ID:4864)


great place to learn how to Skydive


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: Vezina29 on 2008-07-25

Pros: Great People, best pilot ever
Cons: limited loads cause of plane space

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Relaxed atmosphere, great people, and no cliques. I got my A license here and look forward to coming up every weekend. Only drawback is the limited loads that comes with a cessna. Bigger planes might be in the future. This place is awesome...and John Hayes, your my hero....
(Review ID:4667)


Fantistic place!


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: chinchman99 on 2007-09-24

Pros: People, Location
Cons: Climb to altitude

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Read Beav2's review, I agree 100%. I love the place, people and environment. The only drawback is that it's a Cessna DZ.
(Review ID:4151)


New DZ gets my business!


Tradewind Sky Sports Rated 5 by: iambeav2 on 2007-08-06

Pros: Cheapest jump tickets, Closest NC Dropzone to coast, Staff are friendly, HUGE landing area, AC Packing Area
Cons: Cessna-182-Funnest plane to jump from, just slow ride up, and only 4 people per load.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I love this place. It's a wonderful place to jump and is NOW my home DZ by location, and by choice. A new plane is in the works, but the packing area can chill you out, and the landing area is "ginormous" w/ a bunch of outs. Up high there is a wondeful view of the Pamlico, and Downtown Historic Washington, the staff are just about as homely as ever. I wish more DZ's were put together as well as this. Small and just starting, but def. has their shit together!!! Thanks Beef!!
(Review ID:4064)

Write your own Review