Skip to Content

Dropzone : Reviews

Reviews for: Oklahoma Skydiving Center - (Visit this link)
Average Rating = 3.91/5 Average Rating : 3.91/5

Dropzone Summary | Reviews

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|


Review Summary:


Average Rating : Average Rating = 3.91/5
Total Reviews: 11

> Write a Review

Show: Sort:
Display:
100% Times: 2 Times: 0 Times: 1 Times: 2 Times: 6
80%
60%
40%
20%
0%
Times  2 0 1 2 6
Rating  1 2 3 4 5



Horribly rude owner.


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: barrykim1998 on 2013-03-27

Pros: Nothing I can think of...
Cons: Everything - Owner's professionalism stinks; rude

  Professionalism
  Vibe
My wife and I made reservations to do our very first tandem at the OK Skydiving Center in Cushing for a Friday afternoon at 12pm. When I made the reservation, I was asked by the female I was speaking with to provide my cell number in case the jump was cancelled due to weather; I provided her my number and also explained that we were going to be coming from OKC, about 1.5 hours away from Cushing. The day of the jump, it was overcast and pretty cool (about 50degrees).

We left our hotel about 10am and arrived at the facility about 11:30 - just in time to fill out paperwork, etc. But there was not a car or person in sight. No one was there. So, I called the main number and the same lady answered. I told her my name and that we had reservations for a tandem jump at 12pm. She then told me that the pilot had called her about an hour before to tell her there would be no jumps that day due to the cloud coverage. So, she tells me, we aren't going to go out. I said to her that this was disappointing and asked why she didn't call me to let me know the jump was cancelled. She got very defensive and told me she didn't control the weather. I reiterated that while I was disappointed we wouldn't jump, I was more perturbed that she had known this for an hour and didn't bother to call me. She then started yelling and eventually hung up on me. My wife and I, still sitting in the car near the hanger, looked at each other in shock. I called the number back and when the girl answered again, I asked to speak with a manager. She then revealed she was the owner and that if I didn't like the way she handled her business then I should go somewhere else to skydive (not a problem). I tried to calm her down and again simply ask why she didn't call me to let me know the jump had been cancelled; that doing so would have saved my wife and me a lot of time. She very sarcastically apologized and again hung up the phone. So my wife and I decided we would look on our phones to see what we would do that day (we were celebrating our 15 year anniversary).

About 5 minutes later - we are still in the parking lot - a truck pulls up and a large lady got out and went into the hanger. About 10 minutes later - still looking for something to do - a red car comes flying up and parks right next to us. A guy gets out (not sure if he had just woken up or had just come from a bar, but he was disheveled) and goes into the hanger. I wondered aloud if that could have been the pilot. Regardless, we kept looking for things to do in OKC. Then, about 5 minutes later, the guy comes back out and approaches my car. I rolled my window down and said "hello." He replies - "what's the deal!" I said I had no idea what the deal was. He then asked what I had done to his daughter. I told him I did nothing to his daughter and started to explain my "pleasant" conversations with the "lady." He proceeds to interrupt us, yell at us, call us vulgar names, curse at us. We actually felt a little threatened. My fuse was short at this point so I rolled up my window and we left, concerned that I might say or do something I would regret.

What I got out of the burst of anger between the father and the owner was that I should have known we weren’t going to jump due to the clouds. First, I have never done a jump before, and second, the owner apparently didn’t know until the pilot told her, so how would I. Again, all we were wanting is a courtesy call to let us know the jump was cancelled. We would have been disappointed (as we were when our zipline reservation was cancelled due to weather the next day), but we would have understood and moved on. One simple phone call. Not a lot to ask.

(Review ID:7837)


Nice place to jump if you are in the area and the winds behave.


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 4 by: crotalus01 on 2010-09-27

Pros: Huge landing area, friendly locals, fun airplane to jump.
Cons: Winds can be a problem, geared to tandems.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I read some bad reviews on here so I was wary, but as this was the only DZ within 50 miles of my campsight (and they had a Cessna 206 which I had never jumped before) I decided to give OSC a shot. Boy am I glad I did.
This DZ is geared towards Tandems. However, The day I was there they had 9 AFF students, and a group of exchange students doing tandems, and I still managed to get a jump in in the 3 hours I was there (albeit a solo).
The staff and locals are super friendly (even Manifest!). The landing area is HUGE, and mostly obstacle free (watch out for the rolls of hay though). And the airplane (Cessna 206)...I have 1 jump from a 186 (hate it) and multiple jumps from a 195 (love it). This is more like the 195, it has a large door, a large step over the wheel to help get to the strut, and holds 5 people pretty comfortably. The pilot is really good, he even spots for you (personally I spotted as well but he was right on the money). He cut the speed so much that when I left the plane for about 3 or 4 seconds it felt like a helicopter jump.
Overall a very positive experience and I wish I had had time to do a couple more jumps.
The biggest drawback was the damn wind - every time I have been in OK it has been windy, but DAMN - I really wanted to jump, because the winds were blowing a steady 8 and gusting to 32! Fortunately the landing area is so friggin huge if you just take time to plan your pattern (and are willing to walk a bit) you can get some pretty clean air to land in even with the gusty conditions.
I do recommend this dropzone. A fun airplane, friendly locals, and nice scenery.
I gave the lowest rating (1) to Services only because there is no N/A rating.

(Review ID:6026)


Tandem Jumping in Cushing OK


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: jillstanfill on 2010-08-31

Pros: Fun place, easy access, very comfortable
Cons: NONE

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I have jumped tandem twice from this facility. Both times, I totally enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. I enjoyed watching others jump and the hustle and bustle of the master jumpers coming in and out of the building. I jumped both times with Andy, who seems to be very laid back, cracking jokes and letting me "drive" the chute on the way down. As we made our climb, everyone was passing mints around and just chillin' out. The videographer was super nice as well. Overall, I had the time of my life and can't wait to go back to make another jump. (And yes I will be requesting Andy again) Thanks Andy and the rest of the team at this site :o)
(Review ID:5976)


Don't expect to jump alot here


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 3 by: aim54pheonix on 2009-09-24

Pros: Extremely nice facilities, nice people, clean aircraft
Cons: No turbine, fun jumper have last priority

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Awesome facitlities, some of the nicest I have seen. Pretty quick Cessna and really nice people. However, they do alot of tandem and student jumping and they always have to priority leaving very little if any room for fun jumpers on a five slot cessna. Out of 13 loads while I was there one day I jumped once, my next jump wasnt going to be till load 17 and I had jumped on load 3. They claim its because they are a small DZ but other small DZs don't have this problem. Good place to check out, perhaps I was just there on a bad day.
(Review ID:5395)


The Best Dropzone And Staff In Oklahoma!!!


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Dum99 on 2008-09-12

Pros: The Best Dropzone Vibes In Oklahoma! Friendly, Knowlegable, and Very Safety Oriented Staff!
Cons: None, Unless You're A Turbine Spoiled Jumper With Little True Appreciation For The Sport Itself.

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Great Staff. Huge Landing Area! Large Covered Packing Facility. Friendly People and Great Atmosphere. Go To OSC You'll Love It!!!
(Review ID:4775)


A family atmosphere


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: coreyangel on 2008-05-31

Pros: Outstanding professionalism!!!
Cons: Not close enough to Oklahoma City

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
I feel that the review wrote by "mdheydon" was more of a vent than an actual review. This dropzone will bend over backwards for students and fun jumpers like. The lady running the manifest will do everything she can to get you on a load, even if one of the planes is down for maintenance and every college student in the area decided to jump tandem on the same day. To this day, I've never seen a plan leave the ground with an empty seat.

I would also like to say that the family atmosphere of this dropzone is very impressive. As a single parent, I wouldn't have any reservations about taking my child with me to this dropzone.

(Review ID:4545)


Student mill


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 1 by: mdheydon on 2008-05-22

Pros: Great pilots, attentive\caring teachers, perfectionist tandem masters, facility, airport, 2 Cessna’s
Cons: Manifest relations, having one Cessna down, complete disregard for experienced jumpers and their effort to visit this dz

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
A wonderful facility located at an airport capable of hosting Mullins turbo-beast with a huge landing arena and close enough to a township capable of offering all the amenities. It was impressive hearing the instructor interact by name with eight or more students on my different visits. Tandem Masters offering phenomenal skills with their passengers and canopies. Everything video, with quality vidiots offering impressive swoop landings for the wuffos.
Cushing is also located close to Oklahoma University and Oklahoma State University providing a healthy and renewed supply of student and tandem jumpers.
On three separate visits to Cushing this season I found the following behaviors to be the norm for myself and the other fun jumpers to experience:
…You will wait hours to see if you will even be manifested, other fun jumpers waited much longer, i.e. you will be put on a waiting list for the waiting list.
…Expect be bumped repeatedly upon being manifested (…common across the country perhaps, but hopefully not expected…).
…Do not be surprised when issued a mandatory exit altitude of three thousand feet.
…the teen "in charge" of manifest will suggest you should have gone to another drop zone, naming Skydive Dallas, if you truly expected to make a jump.
…You will be laughed at for hoping to have your fun jumper fee respected.
…You will be disrespected for feeling disapproval of the above actions.

Cushing is an exceptional location for a student skydivers and tandem jumpers.

If you are a fun jumper and don’t wish to dispose of, or don’t have enough opportunity to have your skydiving day disposed of ‘for’ you, as the manifest teen recommends and I now know, another drop zone will be a more satisfactory choice.

I am an aggravated jumper who feels totally cheated by this series of events. While aware my feelings are biased in my own favor, I have chosen to offer this review not only on my behalf but on the behalf of a friend of mine who has seen me jumping for years and has finally saved up enough money to pay for tandem progression and some solid student gear of their own. They offered to me on the drive home after visiting Oklahoma Skydiving Center with me, ‘Cushing’ would not receive a dime of their hard earned money since it was apparent they too would be treated as castoff upon achieving skydiver, experienced, or “FUN” jumper status. This is my friend’s unsolicited point of view.

On Cushing’s behalf, IF there are no students, tandems, nor video jumps available to bump\replace a fun jumper, Cushing will definitely allow fun jumper a slot and at least three thousand feet of altitude. Just what any skydiver worked for and waited for all week long.

(Review ID:4526)


Small jumper friendly DZ located in Cushing Oklahoma


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: Matthew5555 on 2007-02-21

Pros: Awesome owner, friendly Oklahoma dropzone
Cons: None - Go jump Oklahoma Skydiving Center!

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
With two Cessnas running around the clock, I highly recommend everyone in both Tulsa, Oklahoma City, and all other surrounding areas to consider this DZ for all your jumping needs. Whether it be tandem or experienced jumpers looking for a layed back , educational, and professional DZ this one's for you. Enjoy!
(Review ID:3702)


Jump Cushing!


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: exnavykds on 2005-10-27

Pros: Great people, easy to spot from altitude, wonderful location, spacious packing area, pro shop
Cons: one C-182

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
Wonderful drop zone, possibly the best in Oklahoma. Spacious packing area, friendly people, helpful staff.
(Review ID:2683)


come on out


Oklahoma Skydiving Center Rated 5 by: orion1483 on 2005-05-24

Pros: awsome place to hang out and jump
Cons: none

  Professionalism
  Vibe
  Aircraft
  Facilities
  Services
  Location
been jumping there for the past year. the people are great make you feel at home. instructors know what they are doing. they make it fun and make you wanna get serious about the sport. everyone should come out and see for themselves.

(Review ID:2290)
> >|

Write your own Review